I breathe a sigh of relief knowing my busiest week of the semester is over. Our spring musical A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum and
the high school conference speech tournament I organized both were
biggies last week.  And now, they are thankfully both in the past. My grand
total of work last Sunday through Friday = 58 hours 10 minutes. I
deserve some time off.

Playing in the pit was fun

I hadn’t played in the pit since my senior year of high school during Anything Goes,
so the
return to playing Broadway musicals 6 feet under the stage was a
pleasant experience. I’ll admit I had more fun being heard and not seen
rather than being responsible for a technical aspect – i.e. lights or
sound operation. Every night when returning home, the music from Forum would
circle around my brain, over and over, putting me to sleep and waking me
the next morning with it still in my ear. We only performed the music
10 times – I can’t imagine how Broadway musicians get used to playing
the same music night after night, week after week. It would definitely
be a challenge.

Last week I finally bought the Wicked soundtrack.
Two thumbs way up! If only I had discovered this gem months ago I would’ve
had more interest in seeing the national tour when it came to St. Louis. Next time…there’s
always next time.

no one mourns the wicked           

because I knew you, I have been changed for good

3 thoughts on “

  1. wicked is so good.  we performed a couple of its songs at the dm symph new years eve gala with the woman who’s currently starring in it on broadway. 
    i’m about to hit the pit pretty, too.  lots of easter musical/cantata work around here

  2. hey, how’s it goin? i just wanted to let you know that i am currently intouch with First Baptist Church in St. Clair about their youth/music minster position. do you go to church there or know it very well? i think it’d be a really awesome opportunity. keep me in your prayers as i begin to seek God’s will for this possibility.

  3. Glad you had a good time, and yes I still have the nsync cassette, but it doesn’t quite work the same…it kind of sounds like the chipmunks which makes it all the more cheesy and wonderfully entertaining.

Leave a Reply

