Good Friday

In all outward appearances, the term “good” Friday wouldn’t be the
appropriate use of the word to describe the day Jesus was crucified.
However, what His crucifixion accomplished was not only good, but
extraordinary and life-shattering.

When dwelling on this idea last night I looked up the “good” in my
Bible. Did you know it appears 54 times in the Bible (25 in the Old Testament and 29
in the New)? Among the 54, these are a few that jumped out at me:
 – God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. ~ Genesis 1:31
– The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him. ~ Genesis 2:18
– Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. ~ Galatians 6:9
– Test everything. Hold onto the good. ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:21

In C.S. Lewis’ The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe,
Lucy asked Mr. Beaver if Aslan was safe. His reply, “Who said anything
about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the king I tell
you.”

How thankful I am to serve the King of Kings who often does things I
don’t think are safe, or predictable for that matter. Yet again I am
reminded that it’s
not about what I think. I stand in awe and reverence of Him and am
challenged by the reminder that I must live my life taking risks and
continue trusting that He
will remain just and good – just like He always has and always will.

Though not a depiction of Jesus, Salvador Dali’s “Christ of St. John of the Cross” causes
 me to pause and reflect on this Good Friday.

 

4 thoughts on “Good Friday

  1. Thanks Sarah Jo! God has blessed me so much, and I am so thankful for that! I am so excited about my summer…I can’t wait! I hope that all is well with you! 🙂

  2. Regarding the Sedaris book, I heard it on audiobook.  They nonfiction essays are hilarious as usual.  But there’s some fiction ones that are, well, dirty and uncomfortable.  We actually skipped some.

Leave a Reply

