Summer begins, and though not according to the seasonal calendar,
school is out and thus I classify this time of year as summer. In
keeping with last year’s summer Thursday Xanga tradition, today I
reinstate my Art Pick for the Week.

To kick things off, my choice for the week is Jackson Pollack’s Summertime: Number 9A. Housed at the Tate Modern in London, this was a work I greatly enjoyed seeing when Chris
served as my personal tour and modern art guide during my visit to
London last March. You can take or leave modern art. I, for one, will
take it. My art professor friend Jill is quick to remind non-artisans
that, “Art is more than just pretty flowers.” I think that’s why I like
this contemporary genre so much – it challenges perceptions in making
others look at the world differently. Though my artistic abilities fall
no where near a pencil or paint brush, I greatly admire those who can
express themselves in such a way.

Also, thanks to Catherine
asking for my two cents worth of books to read this summer, I discovered two short
stories written by one of my new found favorite authors, Jhumpa Lahiri.
After reading Interpreter of Maladies and The Namesake,
I thought I had read everything published by this Pulitzer prize
winning author. However, today I found two other contributions
published in the New Yorker conveniently available to read online here and here.

Speaking of summer book suggestions, here’s my Summer List of Books to Read (in no particular order):
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – it was a Today Show book club pick and it’s oh so imaginative and good
Saturday by Ian McEwan
The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
March by Geraldine Brooks
Lamb by Christopher Moore

If anyone has any other literary suggestions to add to my summer lineup, please feel free to share!

7 thoughts on “

  1. Nice work….art and literature brighten the world. For what it’s worth, I am currently reading A People’s History of the United States: 1492-present by Howard Zinn and What’s So Amazing About Grace by Philip Yancey. Both are excellent.

  2. i love this picture of you.  it’s a great picture.  who took it?  i hope you can meet her very soon.  we’re thinking of making a road trip of some sort possibly late summer.  if you’re ever around kc you could come see us.  we have a guest bedroom w/ your name on it.  it’s a king sized bed, so don’t worry, you’ll fit.  😉 
    ryan

  3. Hey Sarah!  Are you going to be at ECC at all next week?  I will be in town, and I do believe lunch is a must!!!

  4. HEY, I HAVE YOUR XANGA NOW, COOL!  SORRY, JUST EXCITED BECAUSE I STUMBLED UPON IT, AND I SAW YOUR PICTURE!!  GLAD I GOT TO SEE YOU AT THE WEDDING!!  LATER.

Leave a Reply

