I feel the need to vent.

Due to the fact that I’ve recently worked numerous evenings and
weekends (which no one else around here does…), I decided I would
take yesterday and today off. I was relishing being 3 hours away from
home, and greatly enjoying spending some time with family until I made
the mistake of looking at my calendar yesterday afternoon. I discovered
that there was a meeting today at 2:00, at which my attendance was
rather necessary since it dealt with purchasing new ticket software.
Lesson learned: don’t take your palm pilot when you’re going out of
town. So
my day off got cut to a morning off, with a 3 hour drive home, which I
vented and grumbled the entire time. As I got closer to home, I started
thinking how good a lime freeze from Steak ‘n Shake would taste, so I
stop in Sullivan, and (surprise!) they don’t have lime freezes there
anymore. Boo hiss. Despite my sour mood Sara Groves helped soothe my
nerves on the way home, reminding me of love and beauty:

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

I can tell by your eyes that you’re not getting
any sleep

And you try to rise above it, but feel you’re sinking in too
deep

Oh, oh I believe, I believe that

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

I believe you’ll outlive this pain in you
heart

And you’ll gain such a strength from what is tearing you apart

Oh, oh I believe I believe that

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

When some time has past us, and the story if retold

It will mirror the strength and the courage in your soul

Oh, oh, I believe I believe,

I believe

I believe

I did not come here to offer you cliche’s

I will not pretend to know of all your pain

Just when you cannot, then I will hold out faith, for you

It’s going to be alright

It’s going to be alright

…It’s days like these that I really wish I could be somewhere other than here…

9 thoughts on “

  1. I’m sorry you had a rough day.  It’s looking like we are going to be seeing Aida either Friday, Saturday, or Sunday June 30, July 1 or 2nd.  We will probably get tickets, but the least expensive.  I’ll let you know, but if you don’t want to go with us it’s not a big deal.

  2. I’m sorry that your day was rough. It’s (is there an ‘ in its as in it is?) always the roughest when you think that you’re going to get time off and find that it’s suddenly taken from you. Definately no fun… Just remember that God has you where He does for a reason. Anyway, I hope things are better now! Thank you so much for your encouragement!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my site! How exciting that you are going to Ecuador. Will it be for a mission trip? So, what have you been up to since the glory days of SBU? Are you teaching? I tried teaching for two years but never felt quite like it was the right profession for me. Thanks for the prayers and encouragement!

  4. Oh man! That stinks.  Thanks for your email…I appreciated the great detail…I will check at the library.  Thanks for thinking it might be possible for me to pass the praxis…I’m not sure, but I thought i’d give it a try.. I know I didn’t take all of those music classes. I’m so happy for you! Thank you for telling me the new and exciting! I was wondering who that person was that you mentioned with increasing frequency:) I love Sara Groves! Love, Megan

  5. Yucky day. But do you know where somewhere other than here is? Willard. My puppies will make you feel better, either that, or you’ll choke on hair. Mmmm. Lime Hair Freeze. Oh, and I found some AWESOME lime popsicles at the store – Edy’s makes them, and they are real fruit. Seriously – weight watchers recommends the popsicles as one serving of fruit a day. Literally SWEET!!! I’ll try to call you tonight on my way home.

Leave a Reply

