The End of an Era


Travel with me down memory lane if you will. The above pictured sock
and its mate were ones I purchased my junior year of college. The night
before I was going to christen them, Sally and I invited some friends of the male persuasion over during visitation – namely Aarik, Brian, and Matt.
(Note that the visitation I speak of refers to boys coming to our all girls dorm and not the prison variety or the
Frank Peretti novel…both of which are far more scary. But I digress.)
It was always a treat to have some of our favorite boys over and this night was no
exception. At some point during the evening I mentioned my new socks,
since it’s one of my favorite clothing accessories, and shortly after
this conversation had to leave the dorm and thus left my capable
roommate to entertain our guests. When I returned later that night I
found a jar of peanut butter, package of crackers, and butter knife
tucked inside my pillow case. Aarik’s thoughts differ from mine in how
we define a midnight snack and I thought this little surprise was the
only one the boys left in my absence. However, the next morning as I
was getting ready for class in the dark, trying to be a thoughtful
roommate as Sally slept, I reached into my sock drawer for my new
rainbow colored socks and sadly discovered that all my socks had been
rematched with a different partner. Every. Single. Pair. My rainbow
sock now was matched with Tigger, my music sock with Elmo,…you get
the idea. Needless to say it took me a while to find what I was looking
for, and have since worn these socks numerous times. Sadly, yesterday
evening, they reached the final threshold and the heel gave way. It’s the end of an era.

In keeping with the self-portrait theme, my Art Pick for the Week is Norman Rockwell’s Triple Self-Portrait.  Notice
that he’s referencing the self-portraits of others, such as Van Gogh.
He hasn’t yet shown himself wearing glasses and his work space is
cluttered with comfortable things; things I associate as being signs of
life. Whether depicting childhood innocence, family togetherness, or
patriotism for our country, Rockwell was king of portraying an
idealistic view of life. I can’t help but imagine what it would have
been like to have received a copy of The Saturday Evening Post in
the mid 1900s when his illustrations so often graced the cover. There
is such warmth which radiates from his works; often making me wish I
could fall into his illustrated world. Rockwell wrote, “The view of
life I communicate in my pictures, excludes the sorid and ugly. I paint
life as I would like it to be.” His desire indeed shows a more simple
way of life, like what you would expect to find in Mayberry or Mitford.

Thanks to socks, memories of friends, and heart warming illustrations, my Thursday feels a whole lot brighter.

8 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. I vaguely remember that night. Much more vivid in my memory is the night that we all went to Addies room to play Twister!
    My flying pig sock of much acclaim have recently bit the dust. So sad when that happens…..
    Random note, If you haven’t seen the Wallace and Gromit movie I think you’d like it. Nathan and I thought it was hysterical.

  2. Didn’t we also do matching underwear at one point? And thanks to Sally for that unfortunate Twister reminder. I still have pictures – it’s not pretty for three boys to play that game at once. And when we dyed Roe’s hair purple and Dr. Beiver walked in on the action – that was hilarious!!!
    I’m mourning for the loss of your sock. It really is the end of an era, but look at all the memories it brought back to life!

  3. wow.  that was hilarious and gives me some very good ideas for the future.  laura might enjoy that prank. . . you could always try and find a substitute rainbow pair of socks.  just a thought, sorry for your loss.
    ryan

Leave a Reply

