This
is a fun place to go. Virtual paper dolls. I just love girly things
with an updated twist. Do you see my resemblance? Yes, star dust
follows me everywhere I go.

Currently I’m preparing to co-direct a children’s music camp later in
July. It’s the first time I’ve ever done something like this and I am
actually looking forward it! Fun, hands-on music lessons, interwoven
with interdisciplinary reading and movement strategies, will easily make
our five day, two-and-a-half hour slot pass more
quickly than I probably realize. As of right now, here’s some ideas
that I’m wanting to use:
– patriotic songs & American folk traditions, complete with a charade game to act out the words in said patriotic songs
– mini-music history lessons in a “Composer of the Day”
– basic rhythms (including the use of Kit Kats to teach eighth notes) and experimenting with Orff instruments
– a study in dynamics using Grieg’s In the Hall of the Mountain King along with the story Going on a Bear Hunt
– a study of emotions and tone colors in music incorporating the story My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss
The possibilities are endless!

Ending the June self-portrait theme, my Art Pick for the Week is by Frida Kahlo, Self-Portrait with Cropped Hair.
This self-portrait was painted after her divorce from fellow
Mexican artist Diego Rivera and her shorn hair surrounding her
symbolizes her independence from this relationship. The lyrics and
staff at the top of the painting come from a Mexican song saying,
“Look, if I loved you it was because of your hair. Now that you are
without hair, I don’t love you anymore.” The collective story of Frida
and Diego is an interesting one –  full of love, pain, desire, and
reconciliation. Frida was quoted as saying, “I do not know if my
paintings are Surrealist or not, but I do know that they are the most
frank expression of myself.” Personal openness, honesty, and frankness
for all the world to
scrutinize…would I choose to express myself similarly? An
interesting point to ponder.

5 thoughts on “

  1. haha i remember those days.  and then when i called to to say i was engaged, i forgot to say “guess what?” and ruined the whole thing!  at least i felt pretty silly.  any news from you yet??  ::sly grin::
    your doll portrait makes me think “modernized strawberry shortcake”.  hehe   have you read “the red tent”?  a friend loaned it to me, but i haven’t started it yet.  i’m trying to finish “Saturday” first. 

  2. Major fun doll. I made one, and I posted it on my site. I think I now have something to amuse myself with during the long holiday weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

