A return to life in the valley. My week spent at Campmeeting was
amazingly wonderful and, as always, will be my highlight of my summer.
There are so many parts of
the week I could gush on and on about, but for now, I will share a few
experiences from my week.

Sunday, my fellow counselors and I met to plan our week. We decided on
our theme for the week, “This is how we know what love is…” based on
1 John 3:16. For the rest of the week the students in their Connection
Groups were challenged in finding ways to demonstrate love to those
around them. I was so proud to see them using their time and abilities
to bake items for the camp staff, our counseling staff, take offering
in services, help with building projects at Pinecrest, place scripture
verses on all the tables in the dining room, and so many other terrific
ideas. They also raised almost $800 for the Pinecrest capital campaign
– it helps ensure that the camp will be around for our own children to
someday enjoy.
 
Throughout the week, I had the opportunity to counsel 10 girls who were
young, were full of life & laughter, and yet had deep questions about
God and the Bible. Due to scattered showers on Tuesday, I was afraid
the fireworks extravaganza wouldn’t be able to happen as scheduled.
However, by the time the evening service finished, the weather had
cleared and we celebrated Independence Day in a grand fashion.
Following the fireworks, the teens split into their C-Groups and enjoyed an all American dessert:
strawberry shortcake. (Note: I would share pictures, but Xanga is disgruntled and won’t let me upload. Grrr.)

On Thursday evening I had the privilege of leading my first person to
the Lord! The opportunity to be God’s messenger was so humbling and
special.  I can’t wait to see how the Lord continues to speak to
Christina’s heart and life.

Saturday evening I was reminded of God’s calling on my own life. I have
known for several years that my true calling is to be devoted to some
sort
of traveling music ministry and I now face the exciting challenge of
figuring out how
to fulfill this continued desire for my life.  Later Saturday
evening, our Communion service
concluded the week by coming before the Lord in reverence and worship.
It humbled me to have the teens sing over us and to speak words of love
and encouragement to each of the counselors. It’s amazing to think that
we receive a blessing when we are faithfully obedient to fulfill the
call that God gives us. Luke 6:38 from The Message sums it up well. Give away your life; you’ll find life given back, but not merely given
back—given back with bonus and blessing. Giving, not getting, is the
way. Generosity begets generosity.


This verse encapsulates my week so well. I went expecting to
be humbled and expecting the working of the the Holy Spirit, and I did.
I’ve come home encouraged, challenged, changed, and
am so thankful for moments in my life where time stands still and I can
honestly say that I don’t have a worry in the world. It must be a tiny
glimpse of heaven.

…even in the valley, God is good.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Psalms tells us that if we delight in the Lord, he will give us the desires of our heart. Continue desiring Him and He will provide the the right doors to lead right into your life’s passion!

  2. Your hair is so awesome that I think people in 3rd world countries would try to worship it. See, another good reason to send more missionaries to Somalia!!!You could single handedly save the world and bring on the apocalypse with your hair. If that isn’t reason enough to get out of bed in the morning–I don’t know what is…Adamout.

Leave a Reply

