New

A new year with compassions, faithfulness, and love given new every morning makes me glad. Lamentations 3:22-23

An 11 day break from
work gave me time to rest, read, knit, recover from a nagging virus,
and spend with family and friends who might as well be family.
Christmas Eve felt more like Christmas day since I was able to attend
church with my parents (singing harmony on the carols brought a smile
to my face), and then have dinner with my grandmas, uncles, aunt,
godparents, mom, and dad later that afternoon and into the evening.

Behold, moments of Christmas Eve:

First – me and my daddy.  Next, me proudly displaying some of my
Christmas loot. New fun hats, travel bag, fabulous “I cannot live
without books.” tote bag (since I am somewhat of a pack rat), music
(namely Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem), two new cookbooks – one of Rachael Ray’s and one themed around the Mitford series,
along with some new Pampered Chef kitchen gadgets all have reminded me
how well my family know me and how excited I am to receive gifts from
them.

NYE:

On Sunday night I performed with the Chorus. Powell Hall was beautiful. I
felt pretty also (and got a little more mileage out of my senior recital
dress.)

And the year would not be complete without sharing a few of my personal
selections of the music, books, and movies that resonated my in my ear,
made me turn the page a little more quickly, or transported me visually
through the screen. As Aarik mentioned, some of these may not have come to pass in 2006, but it’s when they found their way to me.

CDs
Sara Groves Add to the Beauty
Chris Tomlin Arriving
Wicked
soundtrack

Books

Interpreter of Maladies and The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
For One More Day by Mitch Albom

Books for the kid in me
The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The entire Lemony Snicket series

Movies
Elizabethtown
Finding Neverland
Little Miss Sunshine
The Holiday

As
I look ahead to this new year, the resolutions I desire to instate in
my life are to keep better track of my finances (it’s seriously been a
year since I’ve balanced my check book), find 12 various organizations
to contribute to (one per month), finally finish reading the entire Bible,
and to better find ways to add to the beauty of that which surrounds me.

7 thoughts on “New

  1. I hope you’re feeling better – and your book list reminds me, I still need to devour the 4th BSG novel. I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet. Do you still want to be my friend?? 🙂 I just finished the 4-part “Seasons” series by Beverly LaHaye and Teri Blackstock (they’ve been around awhile, but they are awesome). Oh, and you have an email.

  2. oh sweet friend, so many of your 2006 picks are mine too! I felt like i was reading my own list! Got your email…response is coming. That picture of you is gorgeous! I have such beautiful friends!

  3. Thank you! I’m glad you liked my and Rego‘s photography. We aren’t the best, but at least we try. =)Photography is a wonderful way to capture a small part of God’s beautiful creation. I like it a lot.Thanks again!Ivreetre vivant

  4. My first thought was “Meghan still has that?”  then it was followed by “oh wait, this is Meghan we’re talking about.”  As soon as she gets home I’ll inquire.  I know where it was at her old apartment, but everything is boxed up in the new place.  But we’ll find it.
    BRIAN!

Leave a Reply

