As many of you have previously attested, the weekend was such a bizarre
one with the ice storm that dominated the forecasts all throughout the
midwest. Friday was a day of great rejoicing when the news broadcasters
announced that Ben Ownby and Shawn Hornbeck had both been found alive.
I stood in my living room rejoicing and giving praise to the Lord for
this miraculous discovery. Ben’s older sister had been in a class I
taught last fall, so his kidnapping hit a little closer to my heart.
Sunday I was reminded that when things or people are lost, Jesus
desires for them to be found (Luke 15).

While the trees in my backyard were so pretty and looked like
they were heavy laden with transparent glue, my heart was filled with
its own heavy ladenness about having to miss Brian and Meghan’s
wedding. I knew getting to Springfield wouldn’t be a problem, it was
the getting back home that concerned me. I lost electricity throughout
Saturday afternoon and evening into parts of Sunday afternoon. Since I
have a fondness of being surrounded by warmth when I sleep, my good
friends Aaron & Sarah so graciously let me spend Saturday night
on their couch, since they still had electricity. Thankfully I haven’t
had any other power outage problems the rest of this week.

During my powerless Saturday afternoon, I started thinking about the concept
of light. I was reminded that the definition of darkness is the absence or deficiency of light. When I put this into the context of my spiritual life, I gave thanks that I have been called out of darkness, into his wonderful light (1 Peter 2:9) and that God is light; in him is no darkness at all (1 John 1:5). Jesus’ own words about let[ting] your light shine before men, that they may seen your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven (Matthew
5:16) have long been some of my favorite admonitions. And what a tangible reminder it
is to remember that Jesus’ birth was announced visibly by a star in the
sky –  the star they had seen in the east went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was (Matthew 2:9).

My friend Sarah tagged me, so here are 6 Randomly Weird Facts About Me:
1.) I drink 64 oz. of water every day (that whole vocal health thing…) 2.) I have no first cousins 3.) I have stood with one foot in each hemisphere 4.) I read over 50 books/short stories in 2006  5.) my parents never grounded me when I was younger (spanked, yes…grounded, no) 6.) I used to think Pat Sajack & Vanna White were married, as were Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton.

In political news, Barack Obama’s decision to “officially explore” the
option of running for president in 2008 is one I find highly
interesting. I think it’s fascinating that my parents and I passed by
him while walking through Lambert airport in 2004, less than a
week after he delivered the keynote address at the Democratic National
Convention. My dad and I both did a double take as we realized, “Hey,
isn’t that the politician we saw on TV a few nights ago?…”

Excitedly, today my friend Lindsey (best friend since preschool) and
I made flight reservations for our first traveling excursion together.
Dirt cheap tickets and a carpe diem attitude have led us from talking
about traveling together, to making it a reality. In less than a month
we will be backpacking/hosteling throughout
western Europe. First stop, PARIS!

Baby, it’s cold outside.

6 thoughts on “

  1. That is funny about Pat & Vanna, Kenny & Dolly… LOLWhere did you get that hat??? Did you make it yourself?? If so, do you mind sharing the pattern?I love your glasses… very chic.

  2. I liked all of your weird facts.  I like your picture.  That is an exciting prospect of going to Europe.  I loved Anna Karenina.  I really loved to read in middle school and for some odd reason among many books, I chose to read Anna Karenina.  It was was incredibly long but very rewarding in the end.  I’m reading the Three Muskateers now.  I might have to re-read AK sometime.

  3. oh sarah that’s wonderful!  i hope europe is wonderful in february/march  🙂  what countries are planning to visit?  take lots and lots of pictures!  and eat lots and lots of good food and tell me all about it!yeah, yesterday was awful.  i’m glad mamma says those days only come once in a while.  but i’m over my pity party and the car’s getting fixed (for an ungodly sum…).  i might just rediscover walking and mass transportation after this.  haha

Leave a Reply

