Over the past few days I’ve been reminded that even when I think
everything is stable and will go according to plan, life has a way of
shifting beneath my feet and catching me by surprise.
Yesterday my sweet, 92 year old, granny Ruby was admitted into the
hospital with pneumonia. Her health has declined over the past few
months and this is another step toward her body saying it no longer
will be able to put up with the rigors of this world. As a result of
this development, and many other personal stresses, yesterday I made
the decision
to not go on my trip to Europe. Even though I know my friend Lindsey is
disappointed, she has been so supportive in understanding the need to
put family first. Between demands at work, the Chorus, planning for my
next career step, and so many other things that I can’t even remember
right now, I know I’ve made the right decision. My conscience would not
have been clear if I would leave on Monday. I would be worrying about
how things were at home rather than enjoying being away from home.
Plus, I’ve already been
blessed to have traveled to visit my friend Ginger in Quito this past
fall (and I don’t think Paris or Madrid are going to go anywhere).

I now look forward to being a part of tonight’s Chorus performance,
tomorrow morning sleeping in and enjoying a restful Saturday. God knows
I need it.

7 thoughts on “

  1. That is a very difficult but good decision.  I hope that the performance went well.  I’m doing much of the same today, resting.  I slept in until 8, it was nice.  We’ll keep your gma in our prayers.

  2. oh…so sorry! I love you and I’m praying for you and your fam. You’re right…Madrid is going anywhere. Ignore what I said in my email today. Oh yeah, I will get you the recipe.

  3. I’m praying – that’s such a hard position to be in.
    And about the hair – it’s shoulder length now, and flippy. Very, very flippy. 🙂 I think you’re so cute with short hair!

Leave a Reply

