Finishing What I Start

I  finished two books this morning before coming to work, The History of Love by
Nicole Krauss (which I found disappointing and wished I could have my
money back that I spent on the book and my time back I spent reading
it) and Traveling Light by
Max Lucado (which I found encouraging, allowing me to see Psalm 23 in a
fresh, new way). I’m the queen of reading three books at the same time,
hopefully finishing one of the three. So finishing two today made me
feel like I had indeed accomplished something. This leads me to my own
epiphany: I’m learning lessons on finishing what I start. As mentioned
on Tuesday, I gave my official sianara to my boss and now will figure
out how to gracefully end my tenure at my current job. I wouldn’t
consider myself a quitter, but know how likely I am to procrastinate or
reason away an opportunity to be active. Sometimes I’ll even blame it
on the fact that I’m an anti-type A personality, but I think this is an
excuse I often use to convince myself. Therefore, as I look to what the
next few months will bring, I want to be more intentional about how I
spend my time at work and how I spend my time at play (i.e. finishing a
book before beginning another one). The words of the apostle Paul
encourage me, “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only
I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me
– the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.” ~ Acts 20:24

Other notable things which have brought me joy this week: treating
myself to a pedicure after work one day, finding one of my favorite
childhood books at the Spring Library sale for $1. It made me sad that Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World will
no longer be in circulation at my local public library, but I’m glad
that it now has a home in my own little library where it will be
appreciated and remembered fondly.

6 thoughts on “Finishing What I Start

  1. Oh my gosh, Traveling Light is one of my absolute favorite books. That, and Lucado’s new one called Cure for the Common Life. You know what books I want to re-read? The Little House on the Prairie series. I miss those books…I used to read them over and over. Especially “On the Banks of Plum Creek.” Yeah, I used to wish I lived in a soddy and wear a bonnet.
    Any word on grad school?? I’m praying like crazy!! Seriously – I’m bugging God.

Leave a Reply

