The ‘Do and the New

Okay, thanks to so many requests, here’s a photo of my new ‘do. What’s with you people wanting to see pictures of my hair?  Though not as dramatic as ways I’ve had it cut in the past, it is a little bit blonder than it has been in a long time. After all, blonds supposedly have more fun.

summer 'do

I took yesterday as a “sick day” for my routine dentist appointment, using a few of the many hours I have accumulated over the past three years working at the college. I must say it was one of the better sick days I’ve had.  A clean bill of health was reported on my chompers and my 26 year old cavity-free mouth is still going strong. Following my dentist appointment I went grocery shopping, returned home for lunch and watched a re-run of Jeopardy followed by Everyday Italian with Giada DeLaurentiis, indulged in a brief nap, and then went to visit my friend Sarah and her 4 week old baby Luke. It was the first time I was able to hold him and was surprised how tired my arm got after a few minutes of holding this sleeping bundle of joy. Speaking of babies, I saw two baby raccoons along my road on my way to town yesterday afternoon, which I had never seen before. Last night I also found out that my cousin Tracey & husband Rick gave birth to their son Greyson. Welcome to our world!

Yesterday evening found me eating dinner with my friend Teresa. It’s been a long time since we had been able to meet and catch up on each others lives, so we had a great time eating and talking for a good three hours. I ordered the macadamian mahi served on balsamic vinaigrette tossed spinach and topped with pineapple mango salsa. It was so incredibly good! During the course of our conversation we discovered how much we both enjoy cooking and watching the Food Network. Teresa often gets to travel with her job and in February was in Las Vegas where she ate dinner at one of Bobby Flay’s restaurants. It just so happened that while she and her friend were eating dinner, Iron Chef Flay was also at his restaurant. Teresa was able to meet him and even get her picture taken with him! So cool.

News: I have made my decision in choosing University of Missouri – Columbia as my destination for graduate school! The assistantship money I had been waiting on from SIUE hasn’t presented itself, and though it may in the weeks ahead, I don’t want to wait that long to make my decision or have to finagle with out of state tutition fees and such. Besides, my gut instinct has felt better about MU from the get-go. Now I need to figure out details of when my last day of work will be, where to live, when to move, etc. Despite all that I don’t know, I do feel a peace that this is where I’m supposed to be. I now look forward to living closer to several of you, my mid-Missouri dwelling friends, and becoming a Mizzou tiger. Grrr.

4 thoughts on “The ‘Do and the New

  1. We are so stinking excited…I may have to revisit the happy dance just thinking about it. Can’t wait to be Tigers together (which sounds like either a terrible children’s song or some kind of interactive zoo exhibit).

  2. That’s great news!  Nice hair cut and coloring.  Aarik should write that children’s song.  Baby raccoons are so cute, too bad they grow up to be so destructive and mean.  It does seem like everyone is moving to Columbia.  I keep telling everyone that UMKC has a good grad school; it doesn’t seem to work in getting everyone to move to KC.  Columbia is closer than IL or TN.

Leave a Reply

