Take Me Out to the Ballgame

Though blazingly hot, the weekend was a superb one! My parents and grandma came to visit on Friday night – the purpose for their collective visit was to hear our community children’s choir sing God Bless America at the Cardinal game on Saturday evening. Singing at the game has been our focus for several months and we were all very excited about the prospect of being recognized on a larger scale. Because of my Symphony Chorus obligations this past year conflicting with the kids rehearsals on the same night, I haven’t been able to be as involved as I was last year, but have remained as active as I could as the program manager (my self-appointed title) by sending notes home, fielding questions, making phone calls for the group, etc.

When we all arrived at the Stadium Saturday afternoon I found out that I too would be able to enter the field with the kids, which made me very excited! After counting noses and organizing 33 excitable children, we were led through a special gate and into the bowels of Busch Stadium where we waited before entering the field. As we crossed from the tunnel onto the field I could have sworn I heard music from The Natural or Field of Dreams playing in my head. (I often feel like moments of my life have a soundtrack.) And though this music was only audible to me, being on the field looking out into the stands and into the dugout was quite real.  Mere inches away was I from Chris Duncan, Aaron Miles, and Jose Oquendo.

Cards in the dugout

As I was openly gawking at all there was to see around me, I realized there was a player who had approached our group and was signing as many autographs as he could manage. Even with his head bent, I recognized the small build and easy smile of shortstop David Eckstein. David’s work ethic and sportsmanship have made him one of our family’s favorites – my dad was able to get his autograph at Spring Training a few years ago. But I one-upped my dad. I got to meet him. After hovering around him, he was so nice to ask me if I wanted to get my picture taken with him, and I quickly replied, “Yes, please.” Behold: me and the 2006 World Series MVP.

MVP and me

After the picture was taken I was able to tell him how proud I was of him for winning the MVP, to which he looked me in the eye, smiled, and thanked me. And while he was leaning my way, notice that he’s not not that much bigger than me!  

The kids did a stellar job on the Gershwin classic and our 30 seconds of fame was all we hoped it would be.

kids getting ready to sing

After finishing our patriotic musical selection, we made our way back into the stadium and to our seats. Thankfully a large, fluffy cloud blocked the setting sun, giving us a beautiful view of the western sky and helped make the humid July evening quite tolerable.

sunset over Busch

And if my weekend couldn’t be more enjoyable, I was treated to a going away BBQ in my honor last night. One of my dear music professor colleagues/mentors and her husband hosted several of my music friends and fellow employees at their home. The evening was filled with wonderful food, laughter, and the kind of conversation that dorky musicians appreciate.

So many special memories and moments made over the past few days…I am a blessed girl, indeed.

10 thoughts on “Take Me Out to the Ballgame

  1. I’m a Cardinals fan by marriage and I’ve come to appreciate David Eckstein for the great player that he is. Anyone in my Pierce family would be jealous of your experience!

  2. Oooh, David is cute!!!  Awesome pic!!
    You get to do all kinds of cool stuff!!  (off to change another diaper, LOL) I get to do cool stuff, too… just a different kind of “cool”.

  3. oh…is that Dixie Chicks CD any good? I hate to admit this but I am a closet fan and have one of their CDs, just curious about the mix of them and Rick Rubin who has had the Midas touch of late.

  4. Sounds like a great experience! I just love moments like that. You know, the ones you can start a conversation saying, “Well, one time I …”

  5. Oh. My. Gosh. I was reading through your xanga, telling Matt that you got a great picture of the inside of the dugout, when I scroll down some more and I swear I couldn’t talk anymore. You. And Eckstein. My heart just about jumped out of my chest. The only thing better would have been to get a picture of Pujols from the backside. πŸ™‚ And I know you and Pujols – you would have fainted at his feet.
    I’m a Cardinal’s fan by birth, Braves hater by marriage (just to annoy The Boy.) πŸ™‚

  6. PS. Pujols is batting right now in the Home Run Derby on ESPN. His little boy is out there with him holding a towel – I think his son is so cute!! And Pujols…well, he’s just HOT with a capital H. He just turned around. It’s a nice view. πŸ™‚
    Ok, I’m done smutting up your xanga for one night.

  7. No way! I have a soundtrack to my life too! πŸ™‚ But I think I’m the only one that hears it. I’m not sure if you know this, but I’m not really a cardinals fan. But I do agree it’s pretty cool about your experience:) When are you moving exactly?

Leave a Reply

