A Place to Call Home

Even though it’s Wednesday, this week has already been a whirlwind of activity. Monday afternoon my dad was kind enough to drive to Columbia to begin the search in finding me a place to live – my mom and I joined him later in the evening. Once mom and I arrived, dad was so excited to share all the information he had gathered in the span of a few hours. One of the contacts he made was getting in touch with Craig, a family friend of ours, who is in his 3rd year of law school at MU. Craig was so patient in taking us around town, eating dinner with us, and then giving us a quick tour of his apartment. As my dad later recounted, this same complex was the first he visited on Monday and didn’t know at the time that Craig lived there. By the time we finished breakfast at IHOP Tuesday morning we narrowed down our search to two different apartment complexes: the one where Craig lives and another which is owned by the same person and is very similar in design and price. A point of contention was finding a ground floor apartment. Dad refuses to move all my junk up multiple flights of stairs – three years living on the 3rd floor of the dorm doesn’t bring back happy memories for him. So after discovering that only the complex where Craig lives had a ground floor apartment remaining, we went ahead and signed the paperwork for me to also live there this fall! I won’t be able to move in until August 15, which makes me a little nervous since school begins August 20, but I now have plenty of time to go through old stuff, throw away, give away, box up, and move things from one place to the other.

After getting the apartment situation taken care of I made my way to campus to visit the financial aid office, met with the graduate music dean, met and talked with my voice instructor, and lastly got my student ID. I left campus and drove to Aarik & Brooke’s new apartment (which is on the same road as mine – just opposite ends of town), ate dinner with them at Culver’s, spent some quality time catching up, and then drove home with Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band as my soundtrack.

Though slightly overwhelmed at all that is beginning to happen, I’m not surprised by what the Lord is doing on my behalf because He has proven faithful every time. So though not surprised, I am continually amazed. My prayers are beginning to be answered, I’m at peace with the decisions I’ve made, and I rejoice in the following promises from God’s Word:
Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” ~ Isaiah 30:21
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. ~ Psalm 18:32

5 thoughts on “A Place to Call Home

  1. That’s great news about finding the apartment and getting things squared away.  I know the feeling to be completely amazed and yet not surprised by God’s provisions.  We just went upstairs yesterday and saw the lovely pot holder and thoughtful card you left for us.  Thank you and you are welcome in our home any time.

  2. “And yea, the LORD shall call them out of the Southwest, a land of desolation and despair, and they shall move to the central, central-eastern region-the very land of plenty.  Fellowship shall be great, for there the vines grow thick, and the grapes fat.”
    Fallatians 14:21
    I may have only loosely interpreted that. 

Leave a Reply

