Books & Baking

Much has been accomplished over the past week. Notably:
I received a call from the library last Saturday morning informing me that Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows was mine to pick up from my local branch. Since the announcement of the 7th and final book, my name has been on the queue. Prior to Saturday morning I didn’t realize how high I was in the queue until I received the exciting phone call. Most of my free time throughout this past week has been spent with Harry, Ron, Hermione, and the gang. I’m anxious to see how it turns out…
me and Harry

Also on Saturday I baked my first blackberry pie. Yum. A simple recipe from my friend Sharon and cooler temperatures allowed my kitchen to not be too hot and yet smell terrific.
blackberry pie

finished product

 

Tuesday I went to see Hairspray and upon the purchase of my ticket received a fan with a freakishly large picture of Amanda Bynes’ head…well, her character Penny’s head .
Hairspray
See? Freakishly large. Despite being weirded out by the Amanda/Penny fan, I loved the movie! Definitely the feel good musical of the summer.

This week has been VBS at church. It’s been tiring to help with the little ones in the nursery, but yet so rewarding to have them come to me and ask for a snack or feel their little hand in mine as we walk down the stairs to go to the fellowship hall. This week has also brought an important visit from my parents as we have begun the process of updating and making repairs to some things around our house, doing major cleaning, sorting through clothes, books, and various other stuff (for lack of a better word), and making the decision to put our house up for sale. Now comes the hard part of disengaging myself from the house I’ve called home for the past 16 years and deciding what I want to take with me to my new apartment, what mom and dad want to take to their retirement house, and what we can leave in the current house as a part of the selling agreement. As much as there is to process, I remain rooted in the knowledge that God is control of all that is happening and am doing my best to follow His leading into new places in the weeks to come.

9 thoughts on “Books & Baking

  1. We don’t do HP, but I’m always psyched to be the first on the list.    I was one of the first to get the devil wears prada from Netflix. Pie looks good.Glad to hear it about the movie.  I want to see John Travolta as a lady.  That’s got to be hilarious.It was very heartbreaking to me when my parents sold my childhood home.  I hope you are able to cut the ties with it easily.

  2. Creepy yes, but on a hot day very handy.  Mmm pie, it looks very tasty.  It’s difficult to part with a house you’ve called home for so long.  I know God will take care of the situation but I can understand the stress.  I hope it goes well.

  3. oh sarah, I miss you! I need to see you soon. Maybe when you’re in Columbia and I drive through there on my way to Moberly to see the Fuhrman fam. It sounds like you’ve had a lovely week (despite the cleaning out stuff…don’t like that so much, read my post:). I just finished Harry Potter too! I got it last Sat. and finished it by Tuesday. I was at my grandparents’ house visiting, so I had to resist the urge to read every single minute until I knew the fate of Harry and Voldemort, but self control prevailed:) That blackberry pie looks fabulous!  I love you!

  4. I’m so glad to see that someone else waited on a library queue.  Most of my friends just bought the book, but I was number 86 on the library list and got it on Tuesday last week.  I love the library.  🙂  That pie looks delicious, to agree with everyone else.  I could dig right in.  Did you pick your own blackberries by any chance? 

  5. Hey, can you email me your new address?  I want to send you a save-the-date!  Also, do you have a current address for either Jeff Stegner, Stephen Barker, or Matt Huitt?
    I am so excited for you about the next step in your life.  My brother will be in Columbia, so I hope to make my way out there and visit you, Aarik, and Brooke..and maybe have Jen come up too!
    Mel

  6. I love that you wear an apron when you bake!  I so am going to be that kind of person when I get back.  Aprons are great for so many things:1.  They will keep my clothes from being sprayed, splattered, drizzled, smeared, etc with whatever selection of cuisine that I may be preparing.2.  They are good for collected veggies from the garden.  No basket required.3.  They dry many tears when a little one has fallen in the middle of preparing a meal.4.  They look so stinkin’ cute.

  7. The latest Fannie Flagg isn’t the best but it’s worth a read.  My favorites are “Standing the the Rainbow” and “Fried Green Tomatoes and the Whistle Stop Cafe.”  Good stuff and, yes, of course you can borrow them anytime.  That is, once I go through all of the junk and find them.  haha

  8. this is trite, and not at all to reduce the struggle you now face, but you can look at it this way

    at least you don’t have six fifty pound bags to get it all into.

    pax

Leave a Reply

