I Heart HyVee and other musings

Earlier this week I ventured to HyVee and can say it has now become my favorite grocery store in the history of the world. Wanting to be more aware of what I’m putting into my body (which, after all, is a temple), I spent a lengthy amount of time browsing in the substantially large organic food section and felt good in purchasing among other items, some eggs and milk from local farms. The milk particularly excited me since it’s in a glass bottle and when finished, I can return the bottle to HyVee for a discount. Grocery shopping may be the highlight of my week.

In other observations: for the past 4 days there has been some sort of apologetic Christian evangelism going on on campus. This stirs mixed reactions in me… What view does this portray Christians? Has our culture become so desynthesized to passivity that boisterous displays of faith are the only way to get people’s attention? Are protesting and holding signs like “God Hates Sin” and verbal railings against homosexuality and fornication really going to make people stop and listen, more than drawing a crowd like a circus freak show? What about Jesus’ call in Matthew 6 to “Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them…” (6:1) or “…when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men” (6:5)? I don’t have any answers myself on this situation – only questions of finding the balance between outward and inward displays of faith.

The rest of my weekend will be devoted to solidifying my research topic on Stravinsky and his relationship to art while living in France – a question and paper to which I will be devoting the next two semesters of my life and thus must grow very fond (but hopefully not burnt out). I will also take in an MU lady volleyball game tonight (free pass!) and then travel to see family over the holiday weekend. Hopefully I will be able to rest and yet get much needed work accomplished.

11 thoughts on “I Heart HyVee and other musings

  1. yay for local foods.  i have a dairy and an egg farm right down the street from me (can’t say rural living doesn’t have its perks).  fresh eggs, milk, butter and chicken are so yummy.  the glass bottles are fun too :)ah, the stravinsky paper sounds right up your alley.  music and art – what happened to your art pick of the month, by the way?  i looked forward to those.hope you have a relaxing labor day weekend!

  2. Stravinsky?  Really?  Not what’s-his-name-who-wrote-the-Planets-sweet?  Hmmmm….Seems an odd choice for a vocal major.  But you know, whatever.  Your life.

    Jerk.

    I don’t really mean that, I’m just kidding.  But Beethoven could totally take Stravinsky in a four round bout.  No question.

  3. Oh, and I love HyVee, because we used to eat at the one in Quincy, Ill. when I went shopping there with my bio-father and bio-grands, when I was little.  They had the best, ever, tenderloins.  Rockabilly.  Without the rock, and with lots of hill.  If you get my point.

  4. HOLST!!! Holy crap, that was on my nerves!!!  You know what, I miss you.  That doesn’t happen often, that I specificially miss someone (except JR…best friend and all), but we were talking about the time you came to London, and then I got on here and gave you a hard time, so now…I miss you. 
    But not in a way that is creepy, because my wife is in the room with me (or will be when she gets back).  Just to ease your mind.
    Like limoncello eases the palette.
    If you don’t know what I mean, wiki it, and then try one.  Worth every penny.
    Pax.

  5. Hy-Vee Rocks!  I used to work at one  for 3 years in high school.  IT was AMAZING.  Every time i’m home, I go to the one there in Indianola, and we eat breakfast.  Good times.  Good times.

  6. I didn’t know there were any Hy-Vee stores outside of KC.  We usually go there if we make the time.  It’s about 10 minutes away as opposed to a competing store 2 minutes away.  I also went for the first time in the organic portion of the store.  I didn’t get anything there, I was looking for Witch Hazel, but didn’t find any.  I think the people protesting would be better off making personal connections with many individuals and try a one on one approach rather than making a spectacle of themselves.  The focus is blurred when you make a scene as to who you are promoting.

  7. Aren’t we all fans of Kyle Smith?  I kind of strongly disliked Reggie Miller because he was good and faced the Bulls (I liked Michael Jordan.)  I remember a Eastern Finals game where Mr. Miller got away with some pretty cheap shots and made the game very close.

Leave a Reply

