Prelude to Fall

Today feels like fall. In honor of this momentous occasion I donned my fleece jacket, which is my wearable friend on days like today. Fall brings about a settling of school schedules, marching band and homecoming parades, hay rides and pumpkin patches, apple cider and sugar cookies. I’m so thankful I live in the midwest where I can experience each season in its fullness.

Today was also a Tuesday 6 years ago. Watching news reports with Addie in our Beasley suite, talking in worried tones with my dad during the school day, and having an overall sense of helplessness are memories that permeate my mind from days gone by. One of my favorite Bolivar memories was eating lunch with Addie on Friday, September 14, at the Tea Garden and witnessing townspeople emerge from businesses and gather around the court house to pray for our country at noon. Such a sweet memory of small town America.

I came to the realization last week that I really love my life right now. There’s no denying that the transition was hard my first week or so, but I’m starting to feel completely comfortable in my new surroundings. I’m greatly enjoying my classes, professors, making new friends, deepening friendships with seasoned friends, and getting to know my new Nazarene church family better. I also continue to pull my rolling backpack, which might look dorky or label me as “nontraditional,” but that’s okay. I like being nontraditional and a little different. Plus, what’s the use in being a camel, anyway? Last week I also began attending yoga classes – my body thanks me for challenging myself and stretching my muscles (and not carrying around a 20 pound backpack).

This past weekend was a good one, full of time to play. I attended the Roots ‘n Blues ‘n BBQ festival with Aarik, Brooke, and one of my new PK friends, Markli on Friday night where we caught part of the Blind Boys of Alabama. Brooke and I returned on early Saturday afternoon for lunch and heard Ironweed, followed by a trip to the public library (so very cool), and I heard strains of Jerry Douglas on Saturday night. All in all it was a great weekend, but I must admit that I’m pretty much BBQed out. Three straight meals of BBQ were foreign to my taste buds and my tummy…

And now a walking tour of campus, as taken on Labor Day when campus was uninhabited. (Perfect for taking pictures without people in them.)

Baked in the past week: a mini-meatloaf and oatmeal butterscotch cookies. Yum.
Highlight of yesterday: getting reassigned to a real, honest to goodness, on campus parking lot! No more riding the commuter bus. Woo hoo!

I’m so thankful that God is able to make all grace abound to me, so that in all things at all times, having all that I need, I will abound in every good work. (2 Corinthians 9:8)

7 thoughts on “Prelude to Fall

  1. campus looks gorgeous!  especially on a lovely day.  cheers for settling in!  and for on-campus lots – i remember going through the woes of commuter busses when i transferred to u of iowa and commuted 30 min to and from.  what a hassle..  so much easier when you get in the coveted on-campus lots.matt and i celebrated the season by going to an orchard this past weekend and scoping out their fall fare.  nothing says autumn like pumpkins and apple orchards 🙂

  2. Beautiful campus! I’m glad you are feeling at home and making new friends. I think your smart for not being a “camel” It may not be so fashionable when the rest of us are slinking around like Igore:)

  3. Oh man, I remember all that. I got out my scrapbook last night of all the 9/11 newspaper clippings I saved… very sad. It’s so important to keep remembering!
    On another note, those are gorgeous pictures! Your pictures always look fantastic…have you ever thought about becoming an amature photographer for extra money? It might be fun!

  4. Sarah, oh, I’m SOOOO excited to get to experience Fall in MO again!  I look forward to going to the pumpkin patch with my mom and our kids.  I can just smell it now!!  I love the smell of Fall.
    So glad you are settling in in Columbia.  Can’t wait to catch up.

  5. I remember those days.  I was in American Government with Dr. Whatley when we found out about the towers.  I remember rushing to the gas station on Aldrich to buy gas and thinking, “I’m going to enlist before I get drafted.” 
    Its amazing how something like that can change the way you feel about everything.  The world never really has been the same since then eh?

    RYC- Yeah, I got all featured!!  I don’t know how that happend…in fact a friend had to call me and tell me about it.  Sara Jo…I miss you around. You were always one of my favoritest musicians.

Leave a Reply

