Staying Afloat

A flurry of activity has ensued since last updating…almost a month ago. I’m finding it difficult to casually check my e-mail or Xanga anymore; once a week (if that) has become par for the course. Despite this being mid-terms week and beginning to feel like I’m being pulled by the undertow, I’m consciously taking the time to exercise, be more diligent about being in the Word, and trying my best to be still and quiet before the Lord.

Highlights over the past few weeks…
Friends:
– getting to see Megan (see photo blog) and her folks as we made a leisurely Saturday of visiting the historic town of Arrow Rock and catching a superb performance of “Children of a Lesser God.” Also in Arrow Rock is the home of American realist artist George Caleb Bingham. He’s pretty big doings around central Missouri – the campus art gallery is also named after him. I recognized his “Jolly Flatboatmen in Port” from its permanent home in the St. Louis Art Museum.
– upcoming house/teenage PK daugher sitting with Markli & Maresa this week
Music:
– purchasing the Rascal Flatts CD “Me and My Gang” as my driving music for said Saturday mini-road trip. A little toe tapping country does my heart good.
– figuring out my thematic question/research question regarding Stravinsky, “What was the personal and professional relationship between Igor Stravinsky and Vaslav Nijinsky?” More ponderings to come…
Movies:
– caught a late night showing of the new movie “Rocket Science” at the Rag Tag
– finally watched “Murderball”
Knitting:
– the discovery of a real, life yarn shop in Columbia
– the completion of my first hat! (see photo blog)
Books:
– met author Sara Gruen, of “Water for Elephants” fame, and had her sign my copy of said book
– read “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield. Now to read “The Emperor’s Children” by Claire Messud and “I Am America (And So Can You!)” by Stephen Colbert

On to study for midterms and keep my head above water…

7 thoughts on “Staying Afloat

  1. That is so, so cool that you got to meet Sara Gruen – I still want to read that book! Also, I’m a HUGE fan of Stephen Colbert…I think I’ll need to find that book also. I’ve never read anything by him, but Matt and I are frequently entertained watching “The Colbert Report” on the Comedy Channel. 🙂
    I hope I get to see you in two weeks! Sectionals is tomorrow…keep your fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

