Favorite Parts of the Weekend as a Whole

Simple weekends bring me immense pleasure.

I took a practice GRE test on Saturday morning and walked out feeling 100% dumb. I knew I wouldn’t do as well on the math/quantitative section, but thought I would fare better on the verbal section. I haven’t yet gotten my results, but know I have a LOT of work to do before I take the real deal for my new grad program.

After the practice test, I captured some images of my new-found favorite view of campus (see photo blog), listened to the broadcast of Bizet’s “Carmen” live from The Met, worked more at reconstructing my iTunes library, read in “Dream When You’re Feeling Blue” by Elizabeth Berg, and wrote another page toward the first draft of my Stravinsky/Nijinsky paper. I also enjoyed coffee and pleasant conversation with Brooke, Markli, and Maresa at the Artisan on Saturday night, and finally got to see “I’m Not There” with Aarik & Brooke and some of their church friends on Sunday afternoon at the new Rag Tag Cinema Cafe. Their new home is much more spacious and very nice, but I hope its increased size won’t cause a disconnect between the interaction of strangers-turned-friends who gather to share and enjoy non-mainstream films.

Because of another Renaissance small group rehearsal on Sunday night, I wasn’t able to watch the Oscars in their entirety (yay for my VCR coming to the rescue), but did arrive home in time to see Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova perform and subsequently WIN the Oscar for their song “Falling Slowly” from the film “Once.” The second chance opportunity for Marketa to give her acceptance speech was such a memorable and kind gesture. “Once” was my favorite film of 2007 and made such a great and lasting impression (here’s my two cents worth encouraging you to see it if you haven’t already!). The soundtrack has become a personal favorite and I was pleased as punch for their collective win. My mom’s birthday was also yesterday – she’s the best, she should win an Oscar too.

Thinking of music, how incredible is it that the New York Philharmonic gets to perform in North Korea tomorrow? Pretty incredible, that’s how incredible. Bringing Dvorak’s “New World” Symphony No. 9 and George Gershwin’s “An American in Paris” to this communist nation…miracles never cease.

I also never cease to be amazed and comforted by the simple way God speaks to my heart. This morning I was reminded of the permanence of Christ. How comforting it is to rest and dwell in His continual strength and to know He is in control (when I let go)…”How shall we escape if we ignore such a great salvation?” ~ Hebrews 2:3a

One thought on “Favorite Parts of the Weekend as a Whole

Leave a Reply

