Chocolate Bunnies, Plastic Grass, and the Empty Tomb

My title heading reminds me of a Veggie Tales movie, but also brings about deeper ponderings of Easter. I have been more intentional about this Lenten season; more fervently traditional in my observation, which has brought renewed dedication and personal sacrifice in my relationship with Christ. And now we enter Holy Week…so much suffering and yet, so much hope. Recently I’ve been reminded that not only do we have the opportunity to believe in God, but to also realize just how much He believes in us. Jesus believed that His disciples would successfully continue His mission after He was gone. Like the disciples, and despite our ups and downs, He still entrusts us to share the same story of His amazing love. “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.” (John 14:12) Because He left and sent the Holy Spirit, He remains in our hearts as we speed His return. Easter also reminds me of when Megan and I read Max Lucado’s “No Wonder They Call Him the Savior.” If I may share an excerpt:
“We can do what we want with the cross. We can examine its history. We can study its theology. We can reflect upon its prophecies. Yet the one thing we can’t do is walk away neutral. No fence sitting is permitted. The cross, in its absurd splendor, doesn’t allow that. That is one luxury that God, in his awful mercy, doesn’t permit. On which side are you?” (pp. 62-63)
*Thank you for the cross, Lord. May Jesus’ cruel sacrifice of love overwhelm me in new and meaningful ways.*

In much more trivial matters, spring also brings about fun nail polish colors. I bought “To Have and to Hold” by Orli today. My fingers are pretty and iridescent. (See photo blog).

My grad studies paper (version 1) is due this Wednesday…it’s almost done. Almost. A few more quotations, footnotes, and page numbers to add, and I will be finished. Hurray! I feel like I’ve been a third party in the personal disputes of two dead men (Stravinsky and Nijinsky) for months now. Oh, wait, it’s because I have. Our class will conduct peer reviews of each others’ papers over spring break, so once we return, I’ll see how much revising I will have to do. Besides peer reviewing, I hope to get work done on some of my April projects, maybe make a short trip to KC to visit the Nelson Adkins, and a visit to my parents. Spring fishing fever is making my dad and I anxious. 🙂

My weekend kicked off with Friday night dinner at Shakespeares Pizza downtown, renting “Once”, and spending some quality time with my PK home girls Marlki & Maresa (see photo blog). My Saturday plans changed when I woke up not feeling 100%. So I listened to my body and instead of leaving town to attend a friend’s wedding, stayed home to rest, work on my paper, listen to Beethoven’s 6th (Pastorale) Symphony, had a most pleasant conversation with Megan, and a pleasant visit from Brooke. In looking ahead to the fall and Labor Day weekend, our church is planning a major outreach to our community by hosting the Power Team. Our church is pretty small to accomplish such a task, but we’re dreaming big and serve a big God and are confident He can, and wants, do great things in us and through us. After tonight’s evening service, I had a fantastic time singing songs of praise with the girls as their terrifically talented mom Theresa played for us (with a little “Clair de lune” in the mix to keep it classy). I’m so thankful that I’ve been invited to be a part of the lives of my pastor’s family – it makes me feel welcomed and loved.

Please be in prayer for my family. In just speaking with my mom, she informed me that my granny Ruby is not doing well at all. She has been unresponsive most of today and her passing to be with Jesus could happen at any moment. “Absent in the body but present with the Lord” keeps coming to mind. While our hearts are saddened, we know that she is ready to meet her Savior, and that her 93 year old earthly body has grown tired and frail. But what a mighty life she has led. I give God praise for her. While I don’t know what this week will hold, I’m so thankful Jesus is going before me, like He has so many times before, preparing the way and holding my hand.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Bunnies, Plastic Grass, and the Empty Tomb

  1. I love that Max Lucado book.  I started reading it a long time ago, but I need to finish it.
    I love your updates.   I like knowing what is going on with you…

  2. Hey sweetie…thanks for calling tonight and letting me know about your sweet, sweet grandma. You’re in my thoughts (even moreso, since you’re always in my thoughts! Not gay though. Not that there’s anything wrong with that…) Hope my nerdiness can make you smile tonight…I wish I could be there with you. I’m lifting you and your family up in my prayers tonight!!
    About your post – I love Max Lucado books so, so much…he has some great ones that are so fitting for this season. Did I ever tell you my favorite one of his? It’s called “Cure for the Common Life,” and really gets me out of a bad mood when I start to get stuck in a work-home-sleep-repeat routine.
    Love you!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

