On the Other Side

My paper is finished. I will turn it in tomorrow, and maybe make another revision or two before doing so.

And my sweet granny Ruby went to be with Jesus last night. Her funeral will be Friday morning. Our family has been expecting this for about a year now, and yet, it’s still hard to realize her physical presence will no longer be evident. Yet, I will carry her memory close to my heart, remembering so many lessons, conversations, and memories shared. As my mom reminded me last night on the phone, we have a legacy to uphold. Yes we do.

My hope is built on nothing less… Hope.
…”we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” ~ Romans 5:3b-5

Holy week, my 6 month long paper finished, the passing of my grandma. I’m ready for spring break.

Our choir is currently singing “Valiant for Truth” by Ralph Vaughan Williams, with text taken from John Bunyan’s “The Pilgrim’s Progress.” I can’t help but tie its Christian allegory to my current situation of my grandma’s stepping into eternity.

“After this it was noised abroad that Mr. VALIANT-FOR-TRUTH was taken with a summons by the same post as the other; and had this for a token that the summons was true, that his pitcher was broken at the fountain. When he understood it, he called for his friends, and told them of it. Then said he, “I am going to my Father’s; and though with great difficulty I am got hither, yet now I do not repent me of all the trouble I have been at to arrive where I am. My sword I give to him that shall succeed me in my pilgrimage; and my courage and skill to him that can get it. My marks and scars I carry with me, to be a witness for me that I have fought his battles who now will be my Rewarder.” When the day that he must go hence was come, many accompanied him to the riverside; into which as he went he said, “Death, where is thy sting?” And as he went down deeper, he said, “Grave, where is thy victory?” So he passed over; and all the trumpets sounded for him on the other side.”

Amen.

7 thoughts on “On the Other Side

  1. I really wish I could be there with you during the funeral, but I can’t get off work. You guys will be in all my thoughts and prayers though – I know that the service will be a wonderful celebration of a life lived for Jesus. Love you. xoxo

  2. I’m really sorry.
    This is the pattern I used for the baskets from this site.  I used 2 strands of yarn with a K hook, though.  The first one I made per instructions wasn’t to my liking (too small).  And, I didn’t increase past round 10…

Leave a Reply

