Doing What I Can

Last week was a tough and stressful one – taking the GRE on Saturday morning and preparing for a test on Italian vocal composers on Monday. Plus it was cold, snowy, and gross, which didn’t help my desperate feelings and ponderings of God’s plans for my future. After much frustration and tears, the Holy Spirit has brought me peace and the reminder that God sees where I am and hasn’t led me this far to leave me. Therefore this week, I have done my best to live in the moment of breathing fresh air, drinking clean water, laughing with friends, and rehearsing some terrifically fun music (i.e. Orff’s “Carmina Burana”).

Happiness and blessings come in all shapes and sizes. A few that have made my life a little sweeter over the past week or so are:
– watching the return of “The Office” with Aarik, Brooke, & friends, and subsequently winning a faux Olympic bronze medal (made out of a yogurt lid and paper clips inspired by the episode “Office Olympics”) for knowing trivia about one of our favorite TV shows
– calling my favorite 6 year old to wish him a happy birthday and hearing him say, “Sarah, I’ve been missing you for so many days”
– finding out that I just may get into the library science grad program, despite missing the necessary GRE hoop-jumping score by a lousy 10 points
– enjoying my new-to-me Corel dishes, which once belonged to my grandma. Her memory lives on as I come to my table and dine 🙂
– receiving lots of great mail this week: including a wedding invitation from my friend Hannah, my “Real Simple” magazine, a letter from my other grandma, and an update from friends on the mission field sharing how God is at work where they are
– listening to the Cardinals on the radio and know that they are WINNING lots of games
– engaging in quality phone conversations with dear friends Addie, Megan, & Sarah. God has blessed me with some wonderfully sympathetic, esteeming, and kindred-spiritied sisters in Christ
– watching the Nooma video “Rich” on Wednesday night at church, which convicted and reminded me of how blessed I truly am. Then fellowshiping with friends at Steak ‘n Shake after our Wednesday night gathering
– attending the spring opera, Donizetti’s “L’Elisir d’Amor,” and hearing my very talented friends demonstrate their hard work
– having God’s Word come alive to me through reminders the that “the battle belongs to the Lord” (2 Chronicles 20:15-17) and “your Father knows what you need before you ask him” (Matthew 6:8). Words of truth that have spoken volumes to my soul
– reading more of Karen Kingsbury’s books. She’s my new favorite. Spring reading makes me anticipate compiling my summer reading list. I always have so many options! Maybe if I post it here, I will follow through with each selection…maybe. Oh, and I’m pondering writing a book. It might be a long shot, but I have this idea in my head that God has given me, and with Him all things are possible…
– living out of my heart – baking banana bread and snickerdoodles and sharing them with friends so I can be a blessing to others through simple, homemade gestures

And now, it’s another Saturday. French toast and bacon, working on a presentation about the vocal music of Gustav Holst, possibly seeing the new Ben Stein documentary “Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed,” and grocery shopping at Aldi (my new favorite discount hangout) will probably be the extent of my day. How I desire to live a simple life and enjoy its unassuming pleasures.

As my mom shared with me this morning, I share with you: “Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.” ~ John Wooden

Yes and amen.

One thought on “Doing What I Can

Leave a Reply

