Oh, For the Love…

Rising gas prices, rising food prices, my future up in the air, wondering about a summer job…I know I can’t “add one hour to my life” by worrying and that my musings will not do a lick of good to change the world, but the instability of it all really has me concerned. And did you see the story on the NBC Nightly News last Friday how some plastic bottles contain the chemical Bisphenol A (BPA) which can be harmful? I’ve consistently been drinking water from an assortment of Nalgene bottles for over 6 years and now they say that this chemical can cause me to be ill? How else am I supposed to cart around my 64 ounces of water and stay vocally hydrated? Furthermore, there was an article in “USA Today” a few weeks ago that claimed how drinking eight 8 ounce glasses of water a day really isn’t necessary. What’s a girl to believe? (Here’s where I do further research to see alternate viewpoints and take the media with a grain of salt.) If only they would create a portable drinking fountain – kind of like those portable oxygen tanks you see older people wheeling around. It could be sort of the same, except the tube that allows one to breathe oxygen through the nose would instead be a straw to drink water out of, like the Camelbak backbacks. Genius idea!

As mentioned in my previous post, I saw “Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed” on Saturday and was pleased with its compelling content. Actor Ben Stein takes an honest look at the ongoing debate and credibility of intelligent design in both academic and professional circles. It’s a thinking-man’s documentary that was very well done, showing that despite one’s religious beliefs, for the sake of true science, one cannot believe evolution alone and discredit the notion of intelligent design. If you’re tired of lame Hollywood B movies, “Expelled” is a nice, stimulating alternative.

This week will be a busy one – dress rehearsals beginning tomorrow night for our masterworks performance of “Carmina Burana” this weekend, the spring music awards ceremony tomorrow (we’ll see what I will receive!), a welcome session for new members of a women’s leadership academy for which I applied and was accepted!, my presentation on the vocal music of Gustav Holst on Wednesday, state music contest this weekend, working ahead on another project, memorizing more songs for my vocal jury, and the polishing and completion of my Stravinsky-Nijinsky paper. If I can make it through April, May should be downhill and more managable…at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

Said The Little Engine That Could, “I think I can, I think I can…”

Note: see photo blog for neon fun.

One thought on “Oh, For the Love…

  1. I read that about the water bottles! I started freaking since I own one for every day of the week, but then Matt researched it more and apparently only the harmful chemicals are released if you leave the bottle in the car in direct sunlight for hours. Or something like that. I’m still gonna use my bottle – it’s a lot more “green” than buying bottled water, you know? 🙂
    I also told myself that I was going to start using reusable grocery bags, but I keep forgetting to take them out of my trunk when I’m at the store. Oops. 🙂

Leave a Reply

