Moms & Station Wagons

Over the past few weeks I’ve been thinking a lot about Mother’s Day…a day devoted to the women whose suffering brings us life and their continual help in sustaining us throughout life. I checked on Wikipedia (such a handy resource) for some historical information regarding Mother’s Day, both in the U.S. and around the world, and was pleased and surprised to see that it has origins in political and religious causes. Check it out to learn more.

Five days from now I will celebrate my 27th birthday, and as I grow continually older I remain so thankful for my mom. She’s one of my best friends and dearest confidants. This has been my mom’s first mother’s day without her mother, and that makes my heart so sad. I know it’s inevitable that I won’t have my mom around forever, but I still need her presence, encouragement, and wisdom to bring perspective to my life. There are many days when I wish I could feel her arms around me, hearing her tell me just how much she loves me. But since I don’t have that luxury as often as I would like, our phone calls, (often as I drive to or from school, courtesy of our cellular family plan), have to suffice more often than not.

Both of my grandmothers and my mom have demonstrated wonderful examples of love and generosity before me. I hope to be a mother someday (after Prince Charming has arrived, of course) so I can share in the tradition. I feel like I would be a pretty good mom, which points to the fact that when that day comes, I’ll hopefully be ready. And for the record, I want to be a station wagon mom. Not a minivan mom. Station wagons are so much cooler. Really. Our family never had one, because what good is a station wagon with only one kid? But anytime I got to ride with a friend in their parent’s station wagon, well, it just made my day. All that space in the back to roll around, take a nap, or play during a long road trip? Oh, it was so much fun! Ideally I would like to have more than one offspring, to warrant hauling them around in said station wagon – preferably a VW or Volvo. If I’m going to be driving a non-sedan, I would prefer to do so in style. 🙂 I often envision myself looking in my rearview mirror, picturing Kool-Aid smiling faces, hearing them tell me about their day or singing along with a song on the radio as I drive them to violin lessons or baseball practice. (I would like cultured and all-American kids, please.)

But before all of this happens, I should probably learn how to change a baby’s diaper before the car and accompanying children materialize. It’s a good thing I have approximately half a dozen friends, with either newborns, or babies on the way, so I can get some good practice. Or if nothing else, I can simply bring a hand-knitted gift item, hold and coo at the baby, give s/he back when they start to get fussy or spit up, and keep envisioning the day when I will have one of my own to cart around in my station wagon.

Here’s to mothers – past, present, and future.

4 thoughts on “Moms & Station Wagons

  1. Happy almost birthday!! 🙂 I need to call you – I got your voicemail on Friday but things were so nuts with the in-laws here, looking at houses and the job interview…I feel bad that I didn’t call you back. But I’m SO SO SO happy that you won’t have to take the GRE again!! YAY!!! I’m so proud of you! I’ll try to call soon so we can catch up on everything. Love you!!

  2. You’re so cute! I completely love the idea of a station wagon and not a mini van! When I was in high school, I was voted “most likely to be a soccer mom.” Which I guess could occur in a station wagon or in a mini van. I love you…check your mailbox! You don’t have to take the GRE again!?! Yay! (I just read Addie’s post)

Leave a Reply

