It Happened…

Three Things Have Happened:

I. This past weekend I turned another year older. Here’s the thing about birthdays:
1.) They are inevitable. Even though I don’t feel a year older, or feel like I look a year older, it has happened, yet again.
2.) There will come a point, I’m guessing in about three more years, when my naturally high metabolism is going to crash on me. The endless pasta and bread I eat without much thought will come to haunt me, like Marley visiting Scrooge in the middle of the night. Therefore, I should enjoy these next few years all the more…and commit myself to exercising more frequently to help keep my metabolism high.
My parents came to visit, in honor of said birthday, and I had a little soriee yesterday afternoon, complete with friends who visited and ate my homemade brownies and fruit kabobs (mom’s clever idea). I’m a blessed girl for sure.

II. This morning I went to an early matinee of “Made of Honor”, and it happened. What I’ve wanted to happen for a long time, and have come really close to experiencing, but never did it actually happen. Until today, when I walked into the theater and realized, I was the ONLY ONE watching the movie! The movie wasn’t as good as I would’ve liked to it to have been, especially in light of this momentous solo-movie-watching occasion, but I still thought it pretty cool that I could snap along with the opening credits music, laugh out loud at dumb points of the movie, put my feet up, and leave without having to climb over people’s spilled popcorn and Skittles. After the movie, I treated myself to a dipped cone at Dairy Queen. Yum. As I sat there munching on the cone, the thought occurred to me that ice cream cones have the texture of fried plastic. And yet, why do they always taste so good and remind me of my childhood? My happy day has also included some terrific bargains of picture frames and yarn on sale at Hobby Lobby. Further apartment decorating and baby afghan making, here I come!

III. School is out, and for me, that means it is officially summer. This means, that I SURVIVED MY FIRST YEAR OF GRADUATE SCHOOL, and feel pretty good about it to boot. Today I returned twenty (count ’em) library books to their rightful home (no more camping out on my floor). It took me pulling two very heavy suitcases to accommodate this task. People kept giving me funny looks as I rolled along, especially because I had this exceptionally silly grin on my face. If only they knew the amount of work those books represented and how I can now hold my head high for all I have accomplished. Well, until next year, when I begin my new Master’s program, but I’m not going to think about that right now. I will, however, mention that I’ve applied for a part-time position at the public library. It would be a really good job, really good experience, with good pay and benefits (wow!), so I’m praying if it’s God’s will, I will get this job. Please pray along with me!

And speaking of summer and books, it means it’s time to share my (long awaited) summer reading list:
– Dandelion Wine – Ray Bradbury
– Good Grief, biography of Charles Schultz – Rheta Grimsley Johnson
– The Secret Garden – Francis Hodgson Burnett
– The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain
– Summerland – Michael Chabon
– Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf
– The Inner Voice – Renee Fleming
– The Solitary Vice – Mikita Brottman
This list is subject to change, but is a nice place to start nonetheless. And maybe with a part-time job, summer classes, and my friendly reading list, I will watch TV less and play outside more. At least I hope so.

3 thoughts on “It Happened…

  1. The wife and I also received the blessing of an unplanned private screening of a movie.   It is a rare treat, but a nice one none-the-less!

  2. I miss your bloggings.  Where did you go?And… I still have that John Maxwell flip calendar you gave me.  I think of you when I look at it.  I’m weird like that.  I remember where I got everything, just about.

Leave a Reply

