How I enjoy the weekends, so. This whole working 40 hours a week thing has taken a little adjustment, and the weekend has become, yet again, my solace from the busyness of the week that has been. Just when I’ve started to get into my routine (now requiring me to be at the testing center by 7:30 every morning. Yuck.), the job is almost over. We’ve succeeded in grading thousands upon thousands of standardized tests. I’ve personally graded thousands of 10th and 11th grade English and Science tests. Since I’ve signed a confidentiality agreement, I unfortunately can’t share any great off task comments that I’ve read, but trust me, there have been some doozys and have definitely served to break up the monotony of the on task students.

Yes, my weekend has served as a reprieve from the busyness of the week. I sang in another small ensemble concert this past Wednesday night. While the dress rehearsals took up most of my evening/after work time, it was good for me to socialize and sing with friends. (Too much alone time is never a good thing for me.) The concert went well, and to celebrate, I went to Dairy Queen with some friends after. Nothing says job well done like a waffle bowl of ice cream and chocolate.

Thursday Kyle and I had a spur of the moment dinner, which worked well for us both. It was my first time having Greek food (where I have I been?) and to commemorate the occasion I had, what else? A gyro – however it’s pronounced. Tasty lamb and pork (I think) with such good flavor made it a great first-Greek-experience in my book. After dinner we dodged the raindrops and went to Best Buy where I bought the new Coldplay CD “Viva La Vida” for $9.99. Thank you Best Buy for a good buy on a CD I’ve been long awaiting. Yesterday morning was the first chance I had to sit down and listen to it in its entirety. While it’s definitely their own unique sound, I heard hints of Queen and John Lennon, as well as new minimalism techniques previously unemployed. For me, it is a brand new, artistic approach to their music, and quite frankly, I like it a lot. In the first few listens, “42” and “Death and All His Friends” are my favorites. All in all, it caught me by surprise, planted a smile on my face, and kept my toe tapping.

Thinking of other first time experiences, last night I had dinner with friends and afterward we watched “Sweeney Todd.” Okay, seriously? Why didn’t someone tell me that it’s way too creepy and gross for my liking and comfort level? I was so glad that I did not pay money to see it in the theatre – I would’ve been a basket case with accompanying bad dreams. I had to come home and watch part of “The Holiday” just to get my mind off of it. The universal appeal of one Johnny Depp was overshadowed by creepsters Tim Burton and Stephen Sondheim, in my opinion. And the one song I knew from it (the theme song) wasn’t even included. Big disappointment.

In happier news, I had my first opportunity to play piano in our praise band tonight at church. I’ve been playing on Wednesday night for the youth service for several weeks, and always enjoy it, but getting to play some great hymns of the faith, which I grew up singing, and then pulling out “Friend of God” for offertory made my heart overflow with musical happiness. And since the piano at the church is a Steinway makes it all the more better. Now that I don’t necessarily HAVE to perform, playing and singing are a lot more fun, and the pressure of perfection is no longer a concern. For this, I am so thankful. Thinking of church, we are hosting the Power Team later in August as a combination revival/community and school outreach. I remember seeing them several years ago at SBU, so for an average church our size to host such a recognizable group is quite the undertaking. But we’re up for the challenge and the Lord has already begun working, placing people on my heart to invite. If anyone is in the area and wants to come, it should be quite the event. Our goal is to have 500 people in attendance each of the five nights they are here, and we’re already thinking there will be a lot more than that. We’ll soon find out!

On the reading front – this week I met some of my new classmates in the MLS program. I’m pleased to say that they are all very normal and nice. Therefore, the librarian stereotype that is steeped in tradition is being broken, one book loving individual at a time. Including yours truly. 🙂 The summer reading program at the library also kicked off this week and our community One Read pick for the summer is “The Whistling Season” by Ivan Doig. I checked it out on Tuesday and am excited to read it and be a part of the upcoming fall events, which will surround the plot and characters of the novel. So between working 40 hours, “The Whistling Season,” “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer,” and the ever-pressing need to work on quizzes for my online class, I’m one busy girl. And it’s just the way I wanted my summer to be.

5 thoughts on “

  1. It’s “gyros” and it’s pronounced [your-ohs].  The best one I ever had was from Athens Cafe at Crestwood Mall.  The worst I ever had was at Pierre-Bossier mall in Shreveport, LA.  They put sour cream on it, instead of the tsatziki sauce and PICKLES!  ick.Also, I have no desire to see Sweeney Todd.  There was a little appeal, simply from the Broadway show we did in High School, but I knew it would be creepy, so I passed.  I’m glad to know I’m not missing anything, although I’m sorry you had to go through it.  Was “The Holiday” any good?  I’ve had it way down on my Netflix queue for a long time…  And “Attend the tale of sweeney todd, his skin was pale and his eye was odd, he shaved the faces of gentlemen who never thereafter were heard of again… he trod the path that few have trod… did Sweeney Todd.  (the demon barber of Fleet Street)…” I’m gonna have that going through my head all day, now. 🙂 (sorry I wrote a book)

  2. @Sidzwife – They had gyros at Crestwood? I was always so enamored with the bourbon chicken that I paid no attention to many other food emporiums. :)That’s the song that wasn’t in the movie! And thanks to our little Broadway review, that’s how I’ve become familiar with several Broadway songs. I still don’t know what musical half of them are from, but if I hear them, I can sing along. However, it usually merges with a song from another show, and then I get confused. The Holiday was really good – maybe not for your kids, but I think you would enjoy it, especially around Christmas. The plot lines are really well thought out, independent from one another, and yet it all comes together in the end. It’s rated PG-13 for a reason, but I liked it. At this point, most anything is better than creepy Sweeney…

Leave a Reply

