This is how it is…for right now

This whole official summer thing is quite a doozy – complete with the humidity that depletes ones supply of energy. Good thing for the swimming pool at my apartment complex, which I’m visiting three mornings a week and reaping the benefits of monitored doses of sunshine and exercise, as well as those delicious cranberry slushes from Sonic, which I enjoy the most when they’re half-price during happy hour.

I remain on the job hunt. The graduate assistantship for which I applied was offered to another candidate, and I honestly was okay with this decision. The waiting for the right job and the rest of my life/career to begin are what is so difficult. Now that I have finally decided that I want to be a librarian, I would really like to work in a library. I’ve re-applied for various part-time positions at the public library, but the catch 22 kicker is that you have to have experience to be hired. So how am I supposed to get said experience without being given a chance at the job?! I am also almost finished with applications for part-time library assistant positions at local elementary schools and have also applied at Barnes & Noble. Not quite a library, but still filled with books, so working there would also make me happy. In the mean time I wait, pray, try to be patient, and keep filling out job applications…

Over the past few weeks in my moments of waiting, I’ve completed two sets of four crocheted napkin ring holders. I hadn’t done any crocheting projects in a loooong time, probably a good couple of years, but came across this one on the Lily website. Since I’m really trying to learn to read patterns, rather than just rely on someone to show me how, I was pleased to discover this one was easy enough for me! The pattern originally called for a star decoration, to fit with the recent 4th of July theme, but since I didn’t have red, white, or blue, and didn’t really know how to make said star, I made a little floret instead. Plus this little addition allowed me to use up varying lengths of cotton scraps from previous projects. I’ve also knitted two dishcloths and a muffler for winter. Check out my photo blog to see my little napkin ring holders them.

Thanks to our well-stocked public library, I’ve recently enjoyed the sounds of Bach’s unaccompanied cello suites, recorded by Yo-Yo Ma , along with John Adams’ “Harmonielehre” (which I missed the SLSO performing two seasons ago). I’ve also watched several PBS and documentaries. So far I’ve enjoyed one on the history of Tupperware, the Academy Award wining documentaries “Best Boy” and “Spellbound” (which I had been wanting to see for several years), along with “Wordplay”, and a few episodes of the BBC comedy “Extras.” In keeping with my non-fiction movie watching, my book selections have also reflected a similar pattern. I’ve read the autobiography by Paula Deen “It Ain’t All About the Cookin’,” which was okay, and am currently reading “Good Grief” the biography of “Peanuts” creator Charles Schultz, though I’m having to labor through all the cartooning details. And these young adult books by Stephenie Meyer! They are so good! In the past month I’ve borrowed and read the first three books in the “Twilight” saga from one of my new MLS friends. A group of the MLS graduate students, including yours truly, are planning on going to the release party at Barnes & Noble this Friday night for the fourth book “Breaking Dawn.” Prior to the party, we’re going to get dressed up in prom attire (fitting with the theme of the party), have dinner at Macaroni Grill, and then join all the other sixteen year olds who show up at the book release party. It’ll be happenin’ place to be on a Friday night I tell ya. This brings my total books read during the month of July to 7! There are definite perks to turning off the TV and settling down with a good book…or two, or three, or seven in my case. 🙂

4 thoughts on “This is how it is…for right now

  1. Did you like Spellbound and Wordplay? I watched them both on Netflix InstaPlay.  Interesting, the world of wordies. :)Off to see your projects.Would volunteering at a library be a feasible option? Then, you could get experience to be hired. :)What about campus libraries?? Just thinking aloud… dont’ mind me.

  2. you’re funny…I don’t know what my july book count is…but I’m sure my summer book count is 7! Do I win a prize? I’m fond of my pool too…although I’ve only really swam in it once. But I sat by the pool once while reading. Your post reminds me of bebo norman’s “between the dreaming and the coming true.” That tension between living in the present and wishing something would change/ready for the next thing.

  3. I’m so glad I got to talk to you last night!! I’m also excited about the possibility of seeing you more now that we’ll be your rest area on your drive to WP. 🙂 Keep me posted on the jobs!!

  4. @Sidzwife – Your suggestions/ideas are in tune with mine, not to fear. I have thought about volunteering at the public library, but depending on if the elem. job works out, then I might have to save that for summer, or some other time. I was recently given a heads up on current full time jobs available at the main campus library, so I need to check on that soon. So many things to keep track of! 🙂 Thanks for your kind words, friend.

Leave a Reply

