Library Shoes

Blessed Saturday, how I relish thee. For some reason, it’s been terribly frustrating that I am not able to sleep in much on Saturday mornings anymore. After a long week wafting between “I don’t think I can handle much more in my life” and “It’s going to be okay,” I was hoping my body would not pay any attention to my overactive brain. Thankfully, I was quite pleased when I rolled over to discover my clock said 8:03 a.m. I then proceeded to pleasure read for almost another hour before I finally got out of bed.

Library Update: For the most part, my elementary kids are really good about returning their library books. Fridays are usually a day I receive an onslaught of books to check-in and reshelve and yesterday was no exception. Most of the teachers have some sort of book tub, basket, or rolly pull-behind cart that allow the kids to bring their books back without carrying them. Yesterday morning I was working with a 4th grade class, and as I looked at a green basket that sat by the book check-in cart, I saw several books inside (no surprise), and one pink tennis shoe (surprise). As I pulled the books out to recheck them, I discovered that the pink shoe was not alone – it’s little mate was waiting at the bottom! I don’t know which class brought it in, or which little girl placed her shoes in with her library books, but it definitely brought a smile to my face. I’m currently in a Cataloging class, where the professor has told us sometimes we have to be creative with how we catalog non-printed items in the library. For example, puppets, stuffed animals, globes. Or pink shoes. Oh the unpredictability of life.

Last night I celebrated the end of my week by going to see Charlie Hall (“Give Us Clean Hands,” “All We Need,” “Better is One Day,” “You’re Worthy of my Praise”) in concert here in town, along with several of my friends from church. What a blessed evening of music, worship, Biblical truth being proclaimed, and the Holy Spirit speaking to my heart. He had his new CD “The Bright Sadness” on sale for $10. I promptly bought it after the concert. So far I’m a big fan of “Chainbreaker,” “Walk the World,” and “Mystery.” Tomorrow I will enjoy continued fellowship with my church family when we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Church of the Nazarene, complete with a full-out pig roast and homemade ice cream contest after the morning services. 🙂

And can I just say that I have a love/hate relationship with trying to find articles on the University’s online database? After much searching last night, which continued this morning, I FINALLY found the three articles I need to read for my Management of Libraries class. Oh technology. *sigh*

A pot of bean soup is cooking on my stove right now, waffles are reheating in my toaster, and a day of productivity awaits.

8 thoughts on “Library Shoes

  1. Hi Sarah!Life seems to be moving right along for you! How do you feel about being in a library instead of a music setting? I am working at a library & my boss offered me the opportunity to get my masters in Library Science. How do you feel about it so far? I would love to work in a small town library somewhere… but I am just not sure about more school. I hope your Saturday is lovely!Alaska

  2. I’ve been a pretty huge fan of Charlie Hall for some time.  We saw him last year at MO Bap and he played Mystery and Walk the World when they were new.  The new record is amazing!  You’ll be happy to know that I’m introducing Chainbreaker into our set list at church this morning.  Should be fun!  It’s a shame that Charlie doesn’t get the press that Chris Tomlin gets. 

  3. @b_rockboy – LOL! No, the bean soup did not go on the waffles. I put some fresh strawberries on top and they tasted much better than I bet the beans would have. I did see an advertisement on Food Network about a lady in the south who put friend chicken on top of waffles. Maybe you eat them like that in Nashville. 🙂

  4. @KINGofmyHeart – Alaska – I am loving my MLS work and feel like I have found my nitch (music is still a great love, however). If you have the opportunity to take some graduate classes, I think you will find it very rewarding. It’s obviously taken me a while to reach this point in furthering my education, and understand your hesitation. While it is a lot of work, with a lot of reading, being a little older helps in being self-motivated. Overall I’m finding my studies very practical and useful. Keep me posted on what you decide!

  5. Chainbreaker went well with our songs about freedom.  People seemed to like it, though it’s always sketchy introducing a new song (especially when most of the congregation hasn’t heard it on the radio – hence why Chris Tomlin songs still remain easiest to introduce.)  I’m thinking about doing “Mystery” or “Walk the World” in the near future. 

Leave a Reply

