Coming and going

Right now I feel like I’m meeting myself coming and going. Thanksgiving break can’t come soon enough. The university has all of next week off, but since I work for the public school district, they only get next Wednesday through Friday off. While I wish I didn’t have to work Monday and Tuesday, hopefully I can use these days to work on the five projects/papers left to due between now and December 15. I now only have two more face to face classes left, the aforementioned assignments to complete, and one final to take and my semester will be FINISHED!

Prayer request: last week my grandma Jessie (my only living grandparent) was diagnosed with esophageal cancer. Our family and friends have been uplifting her in prayer and when she went for a follow-up visit to the doctor yesterday, the PET scan they had taken came back showing NO cancer! Praise the Lord! There is still a tumor in her esophagus, which is still a very serious situation. The doctors are discussing what to do from here. So, while there is some great news, there are still some unanswered questions we will face in the days and weeks to come. Please keep my grandma and our family in your thoughts and prayers.

Elementary library land is going well and as always, my kids at school say the funniest things. Last week one 1st grade boy had requested the book “The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales” by Jon Schieszka. We only have one copy of this book and it’s very popular, so he had been waiting for it for a while. After he started looking at it, another little boy said, “Well, I think the book smells like stinky cheese!” Yesterday I read the story “Melissa Parkington’s Beautiful, Beautiful Hair” by Pat Brisson to the other class of 1st graders. The story deals with ways you can improve yourself and do kind things for people, including donating your hair. I used the story as an opportunity for a writing prompt and asked the kids to write down five kind things they can do for others and three things they wish they could do better – playing basketball, becoming a better artist, etc. A cute little blond headed girl with glasses looked up at me and said, “I know something I can do better! I can get better at catching bugs!” I smiled and told her, “Oh, that’s a wonderful goal!” Except for lightning bugs, I wasn’t ever a big bug catcher, but it made me happy to know that this simple childhood pleasure is one she thinks she can improve upon. πŸ™‚

This past summer I believe I mentioned my fascination with reading Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight” saga, complete with going to Barnes & Noble the night “Breaking Dawn” was released. In keeping with this tradition, a group of my MLS friends and I pre-bought tickets to see the movie adaptation of “Twilight” when it opens this Friday night. We’ll see if we’re surrounded, yet again, by sixteen year old girls in love with Edward. I just hope they keep their mouths shut during the movie…I hate going to movies when the theater is filled with incessant chatter, but I already know I should bring audience earplugs.

And thinking of teenagers, this past weekend I was the adult sponsor (it’s hard for me to admit I’m on the “grown up” side of life now…) who drove a group of teens from our church and a neighboring church to our fall district Nazarene retreat, C.O.G. – Centering on God. The Lord helped me drive that big red van through the rain the entire way there on Friday night, allowed me to sense His presence as I always do when I go to Pinecrest, and helped me stay awake on five hours of sleep as I drove the van through cold wind and spitting snow coming back on Saturday. The entire weekend was filled with confidence building, resting in the Lord, and the reminder of how important it is to truly take time to meet and center on God.

With all that has happened to me lately, and all that I know is to come, the Lord has brought me back repeatedly to Psalm 73:26, “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Forever. Yes and amen.

3 thoughts on “Coming and going

  1. I’m SO excited about the Twilight movie!! Matt wants to see it too, so I forwarned him about my obsession with Edward. πŸ™‚ Are you going to WP for the holidays? We’re leaving for AL on Wednesday.

  2. I hear you sister…sometimes I feel like I see myself passing on the way up the stairs or out to my car…but I know it’s a figament of my imagination:) I will pray for Grandma Jessie ! Oh dear! I love the kid stories. I appreciate them a lot! πŸ™‚

  3. <table id=”HB_Mail_Container” height=”100%” cellspacing=”0″ cellpadding=”0″ width=”100%” border=”0″ unselectable=”on”><tbody><tr height=”100%” unselectable=”on” width=”100%”><td id=”HB_Focus_Element” valign=”top” width=”100%” background=”” height=”250″ unselectable=”off”>With the other books, I zoomed right through them.  This one took FOREVER to finish!  I liked it but it did drag but all of the info was important.  I was frustrated that Bella got pregnant b/c it took away from the love story and I loved the love story.  I almost put it down during Jacob’s story.  It ended well but, yeah, it was long.

Leave a Reply

