Little by Little

January 6 – Finally unpacking my new toaster oven I got for Christmas. The toastyness makes me happy. 🙂
IMG_4648

January 7 – The new entrance to our church.
IMG_4652

January 8 – My friend Kari that teaches Special Ed across the hall said that I looked angelic standing by the bookcase arranging books and having the sun shine around my head. So this is from her perspective.
IMG_4657

January 9 – Markli and me trying to eat a donut on a string tied to a dowel rod. Lock in games are so much fun. (Technically this was a January 10 picture, since it was taken around 2:15 a.m., but since we hadn’t gone to sleep yet, it still classifies as January 9 in my book.)
IMG_4674

January 10 – A few of my sleeping beauties around 6:30 on Saturday morning during our lock in. This was about as much sleep as some of them got that night. I comfortably slept through a viewing of “Kung Fu Panda” earlier in the evening/early morning and got another snooze, waking up just before I took this picture. I then proceeded to come home and sleep most of the day. Staying up all night just doesn’t come as easily as it used to. Wait…it never did.
IMG_4677

January 11 – The beautiful quilt my grandma made and gave me for Christmas, that finally made its way onto my bed. It goes nicely with my color scheme, don’t you think?
IMG_4680

January 12 – A little sliver of sun peeking through the clouds before it set.
IMG_4686

January 13 – Hot Box Oreo cookie cupcake, milk, and Connect Four. It was such a pleasant way to spend the evening with my MLS friend Jessie.
IMG_4694

Yesterday at school, one of my kindergarten boys told me, “I learned how to tie my shoes!” I told him how proud I was of him and what a wonderful accomplishment that it was. I still remember sitting on our front porch and having my grandma teach me how to tie my shoes when I was about his age. Later in the afternoon a different kindergarten boy had both of his shoes untied and it melted my heart when a 5th grade boy kindly helped him tie them. 🙂 Today one of my 2nd grade boys came to pick up a book on hold (he’s the same one that spelled out P-O-O-P a few weeks ago) and began expounding on his favorite video games. He then told me, “For your next birthday you should buy a (Nintendo) DS and get the avitar game!” I guess I look like the kind of person who seriously lacks extensive video game knowledge. Boy is he right. I did, however, finally play Guitar Hero for the first time several weeks ago and think I did pretty well for being a beginner. I had a lot of fun, and so did those watching at my expense.

The Lord continues to “make my paths straight” (Proverbs 3:6) and refine my plans for the future. And as always, it comes at the perfect time, when my heart is the most receptive, and when He knows I will listen. This is especially comforting since classes begin next Tuesday. The trick, I’ve found, is to listen for His still, small voice and recognize how He is working in my life. While I’m a work in progress that is continually becoming, when these revelations occur, they help increase my faith and my reliance on the Lord. How sweet that is.

Leave a Reply

