A thing of the present and the future

I fully realize that this only marks the third week of school, but I’m so ready for the semester to be finished. How sad is that? The time I had over break to simply work and be committed to activities at church was so much easier without school in the mix. When I juggle three separate obligations, it seems like one always has to suffer for the sake of the other two – it alternates as to which one gets the short end of the stick, but I just hate feeling like I’m stretched so thin. Regardless, I press on and look forward to when what I’m doing now will benefit my future and when textbooks will be a thing of the past.

Lots of photos to share from recent days!

January 21 – so Mabel, my old lady car, decided not to start after work this day. AAA conveniently towed her to the mechanic and I was supplied with a rental car. I’m pleased to say the old girl is up and running again now!
IMG_4763

January 22 – another beautiful mid-Missouri sunset.
IMG_4764

January 23 – a treat to have noodles for dinner with my sweet friend Markli
IMG_4776

January 24 – nothing says Saturday like having class from 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. It thankfully went by quickly and is a class I’m going to enjoy, even though it meets on Saturday mornings once a month. Let’s hear it for defacing school property!
IMG_4777

January 25 – I’d been waiting for it to snow enough to take this picture. It’s a little foot bridge on the way to church. It’s easier to see in the winter when the leaves are off the trees. I’m not for sure where the path goes, but it reminds me of Robert Frost poetry.
IMG_4782

January 26 – so driving and trying to take pictures really isn’t all that easy (or probably very smart for that matter), especially when there’s a car behind you that doesn’t appreciate you going slowly. But I thought these (blurry) bushes near the city activities center were so pretty! They’re firery red, orange, and yellow. I’ll have to see what they look like when they have foliage return this spring.
IMG_4785

January 27 – we still haven’t had what I would call a decent snow. We, thankfully, escaped the ice storm that hit most of the other parts of the state/mid-west, but these were my footprints in the little snow we received.
IMG_4786

January 28 – my co-librarian was teaching kindergartners about non-fiction (a.k.a. not make-believe)
Jan 28, 2009

January 29 – the Formosa String Quartet paid a visit to our school! They wonderfully played some selections by Smetana and an unnamed Taiwanese composer, and deftly answered several questions by our kiddos.
IMG_4797

January 30 – the historic hallway of an old hotel that now serves as a retirement community. We celebrated one of our church members’ 81st birthday in grand style.
IMG_4817

January 31 – I just love the baby shopping carts at Hy-Vee!
IMG_4824

February 1 – there’s nothing like a Nazarene pot-luck to bring the church family together. Especially since we were celebrating the announcement of having an Associate Pastor on staff!
IMG_4830

After said pot-luck, I am now ready for a nap.

One thought on “A thing of the present and the future

Leave a Reply

