Lost

Today I was told by a kindergartner that my lips looked pretty. I’m really not for sure why she thought this, because by this point in the morning my lipstick had long worn off, but I accepted her compliment with kindness anyway. As I was teaching another class of kindergartners about the different parts of a computer, one little boy raised his hand to say, “The part in the middle of the mouse is the squealer.” (He meant the scroll wheel.) Close enough.

To bring the outdoors inside and help our kids learn about animal habitats, our district has an animal sharing program. Teachers sign up for a pet to come to their classroom, which they keep for about a week, and then pass it on to another teacher. So far, I’ve seen for myself, or have heard kids talking about, hissing cockroaches, snakes, guinea pigs, hamsters, and iguanas in their rooms. And so far, everything has gone smoothly with our borrowed pets. This week was supposed to have been hamster week in one of the 1st grade classes. Things seemed to be on the up and up at the end of school on Monday, but when the teacher and kids arrived yesterday morning, the top of the hamster cage was askew and Rusty the hamster had disappeared. When the class came to the library yesterday they asked, “Have you seen our hamster? He’s missing!” I told them I had heard about this and that, no, I hadn’t seen Rusty. Our custodian shared with me how some of the kids told him they thought they heard Rusty in the ceiling tiles in the bathroom. Could be… But today, as I walked by the office, I saw this posted on the window:
IMG_5027

It’s so cute and sad, it makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time. Just so you know, if you see Rusty, there’s a $10 reward for him, no questions asked.

Now for some photo catch-up time!

March 2 – nothing says childhood happiness like a carousel. This one resides in the food court at the mall. When I retire, I want to have the job of running the carousel. And when there aren’t kids to ride said carousel, you get to sit there and read a book. How perfect would that be?
IMG_4994

March 3 – I’ve found a new favorite book: “A Bad Case of Stripes” by David Shannon. I found it serendipitous that my socks matched the theme of the book on this particular day. And if you read it, you’ll be happy…just the way you are.
IMG_4995

March 4 – I always enjoy impromptu lunches with friends. This one was with my friend Brittany, at where else? Which Wich.
IMG_4997

March 5 – last week’s string of beautiful days prompted many of the teachers to let their kids have extra recess time. Taking pictures of the kids and pushing some of them on the swings was an opportunity I didn’t want to let slip by.
IMG_4998

March 6 – Friday night saw me attending a local high school musical production of “Lil’ Abner.” One of the teens from my church was in the show, which was a lot of fun. The balcony and older lighting fixtures captivated my interest during intermission.
IMG_5012

March 7 – how sweet it is to be loved by college friends. Megan and her sister Jennifer came through town on Saturday evening, giving us time to eat dinner at a fun Chinese restaurant, and do some quality catching up.
IMG_5013

March 8 – daylight saving time came too early, but the sun was peeking through the clouds as I drove to church.
IMG_5018

March 9 – a cup of hot tea and a homemade cookie are fine precursors to bedtime, I’m convinced.
IMG_5024

March 10 – “and tomorrow’s another day, and I’m thirsty anyway, so bring on the rain.” Thank you, Jo Dee Messina.
IMG_5026

“Just because I’m losing, doesn’t mean I’m lost…” – Coldplay

One thought on “Lost

  1. Hi Sarah!I have never heard of Wich Which, is it a local chain? So, I am doing story time for the hospital here in Greeley & I found this really cute book that I so highly reccomend , it is called Katie Loves the Kittens. You must check it out! Hope your weekend is happy!

Leave a Reply

