Up ’til now

So, I’m on spring break. Wonderful, joyous spring break, so well executed that I have the week off of work and school alike, which I have found quite accommodating. Leading up to this relaxing week off, I ended the first half of my semester with renewed hope for what is to come, which is always a good thing. There are times when I think, “Oh, I just don’t see how I can make it another x amount of weeks!,” but the anticipation of a break always helps alleviate those overwhelming feelings.

Considering I’ve been on a little break, this post will serve as an update prior to the beginning of my holiday. The next post will encompass this past week. Thusly, here is the mid-March photo update, courtesy of yours truly.

March 12 – My own little homemade La Fiesta Mexicana (also known as a lovely piece for bands by H. Owen Reed)
IMG_5028

March 13 – springtime braids and bubbles
IMG_5037

March 14 – my sweet friend Stephanie and her baby girl Brenna visited me and we fashioned our evening to include dinner and origami making. Both the soup I fixed and the origami we made need a little bit more practice. 🙂
IMG_5051

March 15 – I’ve been feeling like a bona fide librarian for a while, but now that I can whip up my hair into a bun, I’m staring to look the part.
IMG_5059

March 16 – It saddens me that I don’t get to sing as much as I used to. Well, organized singing, that is. So, I take much delight in our weekly Easter cantata rehearsals.
IMG_5062

March 17 – There’s a skeleton that resides in the computer lab server room, which I presume is used for health classes, though I have yet to see it leave its little home. At the beginning of the year, the kindergartners were quite frightened that someone’s bones were on display for all the world to see. When searching for headphones for kids to use on the computers, I saw that the skeleton had been moved to the back of the closet. Its head and skull are now unhinged from one another and someone had stuck an American flag through its rib cage. A little creepy, but it makes for great composition.
IMG_5069

March 18 – Trying to sing, play the piano, and simultaneously take pictures is a tough job. Good thing I gave up the camera to focus on practicing with the other Wednesday night praise band members before church started.
IMG_5077

March 19 – This little portly statue sits on the patio of a local bakery and if had been a wee bit warmer, our group would have probably joined him on said patio. He happily reminds me of a character from Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.
IMG_5086

March 20 – Friday night game night with the teens at church. And what would game night be without Apples to Apples? Not much of a game night, that’s what.
IMG_5088

March 21 – While most people skipped town on Friday afternoon, due to class on Saturday morning, and helping lead worship at early church on Sunday, I wasn’t able to leave until late Sunday morning. During this in-between time, I kicked off my break by enjoying some of the finer things of life, like having dinner with Brooke, Aarik, & Kyle on Saturday night at a new restaurant in town.
IMG_5097

“It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!” ~ Mark Twain

3 thoughts on “Up ’til now

  1. I played La Fiesta in high school … maybe at Tantara? I can’t quite remember. But I’ve played it. And now I have the tune in my head. Thank you for the reminder 🙂 I’m jealous of your spring break…I’ll just live vicariously through you:)

Leave a Reply

