Spring has Sprung

Spring Break should really be longer. I’ve been having too much fun to go back to work and school. Behold, if you will, my pictorial journey of what I will call “spring time happiness.”

March 22 – (Due to the exciting nature of this day, three pictures merit posting). My week began with a little road trip back toward my old stomping grounds. It was rather like an old home day, meeting with high school friends to begin planning our 10 year reunion,
Some of the class of ’99, all grown up.
IMG_5108

Me and my dear friend Joe, with whom I met singing in the Symphony Chorus. He’s a brilliant science teacher and can recently boast recording with Ben Folds.
IMG_5116

Me with my friends Aaron & Sarah. Aaron and I go back to high school days when we Bible quizzed together. He and Sarah are both Marines and will both be deployed in the months ahead, so seeing them was extra special. They both know what it means to semper fi.
IMG_5126

March 23 – More catching up with friends, this time with Lou, one of my favorite people, who was another friend I met while singing in the Chorus. Exciting days are in store for him and I was privileged to get a sneak peak into some of his musical brillance. After our impromptu lunch outing I headed south to see the fam.
IMG_5127

March 24 – A rainy day in the Ozarks. Too bad I didn’t see a rainbow, or else it would have easily won my affections for photo of the day.
IMG_5139

March 25 – You can take the girl out of the country, but you can’t ever quite take all of the country out of the girl. Hence, my day of fishing with dad. It really was one of the highlights of my spring break. While the weather was a little chilly, we made the best of it and came home with six crappie. I caught a keeper, not a crappy crappie.
IMG_5159

March 26 – Visiting my parents wouldn’t be complete without a stop at my favorite little used book store. On this day I came away with Walden by Henry David Thoreau and Brilliant Corners (brand new, still in the packaging!) by Thelonius Monk, which totaled less than $7.00!
IMG_5185

March 27 – Driving back I was able to stop and have lunch with my BFF Addie. It made for a great half-way point in my journey home. It always does my heart good when we can see each other in person.
IMG_5190

March 28 – A saddened Sarah over the fact that Mizzou lost their chance at the Final Four. It’s not the end of the world, but it would have been nice to have seen the Tigers move on.
IMG_5197

March 29 – Snow! Which I had to scrape off of Mabel before going to church early this morning. I don’t know how much the official amount totaled, but the roads were clear, and all of it had melted after I got out of church. I’m still terribly disappointed that we never got a real snow day this year. 😦 Oh well, there’s always next year.
IMG_5200

Since returning home, I have found time to watch Changeling, of the Angelina Jolie Academy Award nominee fame. The period costumes were quite convincing and it left me with a slightly haunted feeling, akin to that which I felt when watching The Green Mile. I have also finished The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows and also read The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznik (the 2008 Caldecott winner). Both are books I have been wanting to read for quite some time and was glad to finally have the time to do so. I was whisked away to post WWII Great Britain seen through the eyes of readers who wrote letters to one another, and to a train station Paris, seen through the imaginative eyes of a child. Spring break has been lovely.

As I transition back into my normal routine, I do so with reticence, knowing that this where I draw my final big gulp of air to sustain me until school is out. On your mark, get set…

“No man needs a vacation so much as the person who has just had one.” ~ Elbert Hubbard

2 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung

  1. I read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” over the weekend. Highly enjoyed it — and decided I want to start corresponding with people using long letters and the kind of fun language that was used in Juliet’s day. Couldn’t think of anyone who would appreciate that, though… ;0)

Leave a Reply

