The Light at the End of the Tunnel

There comes a point when the realization is made that there truly is a light at the end of the tunnel. The light is shining brighter and I can’t wait until I fully emerge into the sunshine. As my mom is so keen to remind me, I have to keep saying to myself, “I think I can, I think I can…”

For the past two Sundays, our pastor has reminded us about the importance of prayer, especially as we lead into the National Day of Prayer in just a few weeks. Passages out of Psalm 33 from The Message give me comfort and hope…v.20 “We’re depending on God; he’s everything we need. 21 What’s more our hearts bring him joy since we’ve taken for our own his holy name. 22 Love us, GOD, with all you’ve got – that’s what we’re depending on.” Yes and amen.

Due to the craziness that is the end of the semester, my photo postings have been neglected. Since I’m taking tomorrow as a personal day, I can afford a little bit of extra time tonight to provide a pictorial update. Behold moments of my spring thus far:

April 11 – My sweet family visited me over Easter. How good it was for them to come and share in the resurrection with me and my church family. We spent Saturday afternoon going to fun places around town, with one of our stops at my favorite flower garden.
IMG_5287

April 12 – Easter Sunday. With my dad as photographer during our cantata, he captured me during a solo moment. He isn’t proud of me or anything like that. 🙂
IMG_5307

April 13 – On my way to church for our Monday night ladies ministries cooking demonstration, I saw these furry friends alongside the road. I was glad I gave them time to look at me and then peacefully cross the road versus colliding with Mabel.
IMG_5315

April 14 – Leading lines.
IMG_5321

April 15 – I love finding new spots to photograph when I visit downtown. This graffiti alleyway caught my eye.
IMG_5330

April 16 – A little killdeer family has set up their nest of eggs in our school parking lot. My friend Kari took me and a few students on a mini-field trip to see the nest on this day. Along the way, we learned and saw how the mama and papa killdear pretend to be hurt and flop around so that prey would come after them, leaving the nest alone. Such smart birds! They do make quite a racket when you get close to the nest, even just to take a picture.
IMG_5333

April 17 – A night at the opera to see The Magic Flute. It was a terrific performance featuring some of my talented friends!
IMG_5338

April 18 – I love eating breakfast for supper, and there’s no better place to do that than at I.H.O.P.
IMG_5340

April 19 – This old mansion sits on top of a hill and pass it as I drive to church. Apparently it’s on the National Historic Registry and used to be a bed & breakfast, but is now abandoned. It’s so majestic and stately, but makes me so sad to see it look so forlorn.
IMG_5342

April 20 – Picturing America, the grant for which I applied, came in! Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Library Association (of which I am a member), schools can apply for this grant, which provides them with 40 free prints of various demonstrations of American artwork – paintings, photographs, architecture, craft works, etc. I can’t wait to begin using them around our school!
IMG_5343

April 21 – It’s always good when I can take time to stop and smell the flowers. 🙂
IMG_5348

April 22- While waiting for a job interview downtown, I stopped to read at an outside table. I kept hearing a “coo coo” sound and finally found the source – this happy little pigeon. I’m just glad he didn’t poop on me. That would not have been a good situation to have been in right before my job interview. (Summer only – I’m still waiting to hear back about it…)
IMG_5354

April 23 – Every time I walk by this part of campus I praise God that He has led me here “for such a time as this.” (Esther 4:14)
IMG_5357

April 24 – Note to self: do more studying at the library on Friday night when it’s guaranteed to be quiet because everyone else is outside playing in the sunshine.
IMG_5358

April 25 – The beginnings of the 30 Hour Famine our teens started yesterday. Just because I brought the frisbees does not mean it was my idea for them to be used in the fellowship hall…
IMG_5363

April 26 – It really has been a wonderful day, with the presence of the Holy Spirit being very near in both the morning and evening services. Our evening service was led by our youth, after the completion of the Famine, and was well-attended. Here we are!
IMG_5369

As that light shines brighter, I agree with Helen Keller when she said, “Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see a shadow.” And now I press forward with my face to the sunshine.

2 thoughts on “The Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. What does one eat at a 30-hour-fasting event? just kidding.I really love your outfit in the last pic.  Nice ensemble. Working the pink & red.. breaking the rules. LOLAnd, I love IHOP at any time.I didn’t know Kildeer(s) did that.

  2. Hello Ms. Sarah,You made your site simple yet elegant. The pictures are a nice touch. I see that praying is important. Now is a good time! I recommend praying to the one true God, Jehovah. I want to help people to really get to know God, especially in these troubled times. Here is an important message for all of us from the Bible: 17 You make God tired with all your talk. “How do we tire him out?” you ask. By saying, “God loves sinners and sin alike. God loves all.” And also by saying, “Judgment? God’s too nice to judge.” (Malachi 2:17) (Message Bible)

Leave a Reply

