Falling

I continue to seek mental, physical, and spiritual discipline for myself, and then trust that God will provide. It remains difficult at times, but the reward is worth it. Because of this, it feeds more of a desire to rise to the occasion more often. Such is the learning process.

Many photos to share. These are some of my favorites of the year so far…

Sunday, October 25 – Whilst in the middle of “Leaf Watch 09,” I happened upon this train. I determined it more worthy of my photo of the day. Have no fear – more leaf photos will soon commence.
IMG_0866

Monday, October 26 – Another installment from my “Taking Pictures While Driving” series. This leaves from this tree were on their last proverbial leg. I had to take advantage of the moment!
IMG_0873

Tuesday, October 27 – The route I take to get to the University has similar neighborhoods, all with picturesque homes and tree-lined streets. This is one such example.
IMG_0879

Wednesday, October 28 – Again, the aforementioned streets are all so quaint. Though the fall colors were equally brilliant, the cobblestones and lack of cars on this street begged for a black and white rendering.
IMG_0888

Thursday, October 29 – October was a very rainy month for us. As I walked to my building on campus, I couldn’t help but notice the water droplets that had pooled upon fallen leaves. I zoomed in a bit and voila!
IMG_0895

Friday, October 30 – The sun finally decided to come out! I thought the cloud and tree silhouette made for a pretty contrast.
IMG_0902

Saturday, October 31 – Being in class from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m., followed by a Halloween canned food drive and party for the teens at church made for a very full day! Who wouldn’t laugh when you see them voluntarily take part in a toilet paper mummy contest?
IMG_0936

Sunday, November 1 – Sunday morning I had a change in church scenery by attending church with my friends Aarik & Brooke. It was a great time of worship and I enjoyed seeing how God is at work in the lives of His children elsewhere in town.
IMG_0940

Monday, November 2 – With fall comes the arrival of spaghetti squash, which I discovered last year. This is my own version of Rachael Ray’s recipe preparing the squash with a bolognese. It’s big enough that it makes several meals for me!
IMG_0943

Tuesday, November 3 – As Leaf Watch 09 comes to a close, due to the wet concrete, the leaf that once was there left an impression.
IMG_0944

Wednesday, November 3 – A trip downtown allowed me to find this bronze sculpture of a doctor being attended to by a child. Precious.
IMG_0948

Thursday, November 4 – My first foray into making gooey butter cookies was a success. I have enjoyed eating them and sharing them with friends.
IMG_0955

Friday, November 5 – I traveled to Pinecrest Camp (my favorite place on earth) for our fall COG retreat (Centering on God). This was the heart of the evening message. Its simplicity and poignancy make it one of my favorite photos of the year.
IMG_0965

Saturday, November 6 – I hope that waking up to a view like this is just a glimpse of what heaven will be like. My morning at Pinecrest began perfectly: biscuits & gravy, hashbrowns, scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, and a little coffee for good measure.
IMG_0999

After near 70 degree temperatures, the day ended just as happily.
IMG_1016

Sunday, November 7 – Mabel, my car, is having some difficulties with accurate gas gauge readings in her old age. I decided to get gas immediately following church, lest I become a helpless, stranded motorist. I picked a windy day to get gas!
IMG_1021

Monday, November 8 – Tonight I met with friends to brainstorm a paper we have due this weekend. Here’s what we think of the situation:
IMG_1024

Thus begins Week 12 of the semester. This week, then one more week until a week of vacation for Thanksgiving, followed by a few very short weeks before finals and Christmas. I’m already planning my lists of items to bake and books to read on my break. 🙂

One thought on “Falling

Leave a Reply

