Born is the King

One more final to finish by Friday, paperwork to complete and turn in for the practicum I will be undertaking next semester, then I will be Done (note the capital D). The weekend will be a fun time of finishing wrapping presents, working on Christmas cards, and spending time with friends before I leave for Christmas in the Ozarks.

Over the past few weeks the spirit of Christmas has gently wound its way into my heart yet again. Notes from my journal on December 9:
Though it is so bitterly cold, today I love the toasty warmth of my office space, listening to Christmas music on Pandora, and seeing snow and gusts of warmer air from the power plant blow past my window. Having the time to eat a filling lunch and read short Christmas stories by Karen Kingsbury feeds not only my body, but my heart and mind with “things that are excellent and praiseworthy.” I remain confident that at this Christmas season God’s word will not return void and the moments I have to encourage others to remember the true meaning of Christmas and shine my Light are moments where I am adding to the beauty.
“God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.” Psalm 46:6

It’s almost been 365 days of photos! I am proud, even if I do say so myself, that I have followed through with my 2009 resolution to intentionally seek everyday moments and capture them with my camera. It’s been an interesting point of conversation at times and at others has given me personal satisfaction, which has often been enough. This will probably be the penultimate photo sharing. Enjoy views of my December:

Friday, December 4 – While it’s a little blurry, this was one of many houses beautifully decorated with white lights. I really liked how they had the trunks of their trees wound tightly with lights.
IMG_1166

Saturday, December 5 – Here’s my little tree, complete with my Ecuadorian nativity set below, and some of my Christmas books rounding out the ensemble.
IMG_1174

Sunday, December 6 – This house near church always has a neat display of Christmas decorations, including this lighted nativity set.
IMG_1175

Monday, December 7 – More Light Looking! This was a simple house with fun colored and white lights combined.
IMG_1180

Tuesday, December 8 – Walter Bargen is the current poet laureate for our state and I was excited about hearing him read his poetry to a small group who gathered on this cold early winter’s eve.
IMG_1183

Wednesday, December 9 – One of the big houses in town has lighted wreaths in all their main windows, as well as along their huge detached garage. It’s beautiful!
IMG_1185

Thursday, December 10 – In the summer I took photos of the fountain at this local company. But at Christmas they turn off the jets and assemble this fun tree.
IMG_1187

Friday, December 11 – Nine and ten years after meeting, it’s such a blessing to live in the same town with Aarik, Brooke, and Kyle. Here we are celebrating Aarik’s birthday!
IMG_1197

Saturday, December 12 – My favorite local diner is 100% decked out for Christmas. Starting in the parking lot with these lights on the shrubs and leading into the restaurant with little Christmas trees hung upside down on the ceiling – it’s truly Christmas overload.
IMG_1200

Sunday, December 13 – Our young adult group from church has begun a routine of having lunch on Sunday afternoons at the home of my friends Ryan & Crystal. Here I am with my lovely friends Crystal and Stephanie, who have become dear sisters in Christ.
IMG_1207

Monday, December 14 – We had a huge turnout for our ladies ministries Christmas ornament exchange! I came home with a hand carved wooden ornament that Crystal brought, which was made by Ryan.
IMG_1208

Tuesday, December 15 – I traveled north for the evening to partake in Brooke’s middle school band Christmas concert. Nothing says a school concert like folding chairs in an acoustically horrid gymnasium. Regardless, they did a really good job and the band boosters served free punch and cookies after.
IMG_1220

Wednesday, December 16 – Wrapping up the semester with our librarian Christmas party! We had good food, plenty of desserts, and included an information package (a.k.a. Christmas present) exchange. I came home with illustrated classics Little Women, Little Men, Robinson Crusoe, and Aesop’s Fables. My friend Tricia got them when her hometown library in Idaho was discarding them. I assured her they have a good home now. 🙂 I’m particularly looking forward to reading Little Men. Perhaps it will accompany me to mom and dad’s for Christmas.
IMG_1223

This past weekend was our Christmas play/musical at church. During The First Noel, this verse jumped out at me:

Then let us all with one accord
Sing praises to our heavenly Lord
That hath made Heaven and earth of nought
And with his blood mankind has bought.
Noel, Noel, Noel, Noel
Born is the King of Israel!

And with his blood mankind has bought… This Christmas I have been reminded of the cross more than I ever have before at this time of year. Through various medium my thoughts have turned to recognize how Jesus was born to die. To die for me; for us all. So while I embrace the wonder of the birth of Christ and enjoy this time of year like none other, I still look ahead to Easter knowing that a greater display of love will be shown. But for now, I revel in this holy and blessed season. How thankful I am to serve the God of the manger and the Savior of the cross.

One thought on “Born is the King

  1. Congrats on finishing your semester! It’s a wonderful feeling!!I like your closing statements. I feel the same way, that even thought Christmas is great and should remind us of Jesus’ love, Easter is even greater! A very good post, overall 😀 Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

