All Things New

As a new decade begins, I’ve had plenty of time for reflection over the past year and past ten years. My how exciting it’s been! I can only imagine what my life will look like in ten more. Furthermore, my photo project goal is complete! I’m not going to tackle it again this year, but will continue taking pictures as I feel led. Here are the final few from 2009:

Thursday, December 17 – Light Looking ’09 continues with this two story house with icicle lights and an outdoor Christmas tree. Pretty!
IMG_1227

Friday, December 18 – My last day of the semester, which included finishing paperwork and then treating myself to a quick break (a.k.a. excuse to go play in the snow).
IMG_1237

Saturday, December 19 – More Light Looking, with this house being one of my favorites in town (a historical home, I believe). It’s stunning both when it’s decorated for Christmas and the rest of the year also.
IMG_1243

Sunday, December 20 – Pardon the blurryness, but this was a photo worthy moment Markli and I couldn’t resist when driving around looking at Christmas lights. hee hee
IMG_1248

Monday, December 21 – I’ll take ’em however they come. Maybe someday I’ll own a barn and advertise books for sale on the side of it, too.
IMG_1267

Tuesday, December 22 – My sweet momma decorated the house in such cute decor for Christmas. This festive display was in my room.
IMG_1288

Wednesday, December 23 – I tagged along with mom & dad as they took their turn ringing the bell for the Salvation Army on behalf of their church. We were bundled up and had a good time ringing, smiling, and wishing people a Merry Christmas.
IMG_1291

Thursday, December 24 – Christmas Eve included watching “White Christmas” on TV, baking chocolate gingerbread cookies for the first time, and then attending a candlelight service at the local Methodist church. Such a lovely way to spend the evening.
IMG_1293

Friday, December 25 – I awoke to a white Christmas! The day included time spent with family eating, laughing, giving and receiving presents, and being thankful for Christ’s birth.
IMG_1301

Saturday, December 26 – While I took more books with me than were probably necessary, I couldn’t bypass an opportunity to go to the library with mom. I finished Dan Brown’s “The Lost Symbol,” which I brought, and checked out/preceded to read “Ella Enchanted” by Gail Carson Levine.
IMG_1325

Sunday, December 27 – Such a beautiful Ozarks sunset.
IMG_1333

Monday, December 28 – We finally made it to Branson! Lunch, shopping, and an evening show seeing Pierce Arrow combined to make a terrific day!
IMG_1341

Tuesday, December 29 – He owns the cattle on a thousand hills – Psalm 50:10
IMG_1364

Wednesday, December 30 – Since I’m still on vacation-mode, I indulged in reading “The Friday Night Knitting Club” while watching the snow fall outside. Ahhh.
IMG_1372

Friday, December 31 – Another cooking experiment, which I shared with our NYE party-goers at church: a baked brie, including cranberries, sliced almonds, and brown sugar. With an angel cookie press and a little egg wash, it had a golden brown texture that tasted as good as it looked (quite honestly).
IMG_1376

Thus concludes 365 days and 365+ pictures. I can add this to the fun things I’ve chosen to accomplish in my life.

For further reflection, here is a short list of my favorites from 2009.

Favorite Books (in the order they were read):
– American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld
– The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World’s Most Famous Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn
– The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows
– Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani
– Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Favorite YA books (also in the order which they were read):
– The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
– Beastly by Alex Flinn (I don’t know if he is any relation to Kathleen Flinn…interesting)
– Viola in Reel Life by Adrianna Trigiani

Favorite Movies (in the order which I enjoyed them):
– The Brothers Bloom
– Julie & Julia
– Sunshine Cleaning
– Pucker Up – The Art of Whistling (a fun documentary I found at the library)
– Miss Potter

Looking ahead to this year, a few goals worth sharing:
– Begin composting
– Run two 5Ks and get in shape to run a marathon by the time I turn 30
– Keep in better contact with my distant cousins
– Knit a sweater (begun today!)
– Finish reading the Bible
– Really try to balance my checkbook…

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
~ T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

2 thoughts on “All Things New

  1. This year I’m taking a picture a day. Did you get to a point where you automatically took out your camera at some point during the day, even if you were just at home doing nothing? I still really have to be deliberate about taking pictures, but it’s only day 5 so I’m not too worried. =)

  2. @lostinafebruarysong – Hurray for your decision to take a daily photo! Yes, there were some days when it was a real stretch, but it kept me intentionally looking (as you said). My camera is small enough that I could keep it in my purse or bag so it was always at the ready.  I wish you well and will be keeping up with your progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

