Settling into Summer

Four weeks into the transitionary move and life is, well I guess life is pretty normal. I can’t characterize any particular moment as being extremely exciting, but the process of finding routine and realizing that I’m really enjoying my job brings me everyday joy.

The process of making friends is pretty slow, but this allows me to be selective about how I spend my time, and with whom. The Lord knows how I crave community with His people, but this will come. Again, I don’t want to rush into committing to a certain church until I feel the assurance of it not just being a good fit, but the right fit.

Last weekend I headed back to the Ozarks for an annual pilgrimage – the 84th annual family reunion of my great-great grandfather’s descendants. And let me tell you, there are a bunch of us! As I was making the four hour drive back to Missouri, I had the most delightful phone conversation with my BFF Addie. We quickly discovered that we were both traveling and our paths would cross in Springfield. Therefore, we took the time to see one another at, where else? A place we as bookworms love…Borders.

IMG_2722

A perk of getting to see my parents over the weekend was bringing back fresh produce from their garden. Zucchini, squash, cabbage, fresh herbs…yum. And since I am a full-fledged working woman these days, I am trying to be more intentional about spending a little more money on healthy, fresh foods. Because after all, I’m worth it! Last night the warm evening beckoned to me so I donned my bathing suit and headed for the apartment complex pool. Much to my chagrin, loads of little people were still splashing and cannon-balling into the water. *insert disgruntled remarks here* But I thought to myself, “Hey! I pay rent to live here too, so take your pool noodle and move over! Me and my doggie-paddling self are coming through!” This morning I visited a local yoga studio for an early morning session. Housed on the second story of an old row of buildings, the walls are red brick, the floors are painted hardwood, and a row of windows overlook the main drag through downtown. As my body stretched I couldn’t help but think how neat it would be to live in a place like that. I look forward to going back for other classes. Afterward I visited a cute bakery downtown, sat near a window that overlooked the street, and enjoyed a post-yoga pastry and cappuccino. Browsing in one of the little gift shops passed a bit more time, but it kept getting hotter, so I came home to spruce up my porch.

IMG_2782

The recently purchased vinca (the little pink flowers in front), coleus, and cyclamen add a bit of color to the otherwise drab concrete. An orchid awaits me taking it to my office for a bit of nature amidst the books.

Recently read & watched:
– Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers
– Savor the Moment by Nora Roberts
– The Way We Were
– 500 Days of Summer
– De-Lovely

More town-exploring and church-going await the remainder of my weekend.

One thought on “Settling into Summer

Leave a Reply

