Coming Home

Drive, eat, see friends, laugh, sleep. Repeat. This was the blissful pattern of my weekend. I made the decision to use one of my vacation days on Friday, and thus the journey back to Missouri began. First a lunch date with my gorgeous cousin Christina at Zio’s. (We had just finished sharing a delicious slice of apple pie.)

IMG_2906

Additionally, I enjoyed this arrangement of bottles in one of the windows.

IMG_2905

Next, a semi-impromptu stop to see my friend Nick and his family. Nick and I were chums in high school: fellow saxophone players all the way through band and former drum co-majors our senior year. Considering it has been at least five years since I’ve seen him and his wife, and had never met their two kids, a little catch up visit was definitely in order.

IMG_2909

On to the Heartland of Missouri. Home. How good it felt to return to where I’ve most recently spent three wonderful years of my life. No longer having my apartment there, I stayed with Aarik and Brooke, with the three of us sharing time Friday evening and Saturday morning with Brian and Meghan, who traveled from Texas for the weekend.

IMG_2914

Saturday, more catching up with undergrad friends at the wedding of Kyle and Laura.

IMG_2919

Saturday evening, IHOP was in order, especially since the closest one to me now requires a drive an hour away. Having to go that far for Harvest Grain ‘n Nut pancakes is a tragedy. What was not a tragedy was having dinner with my lovely church friends. Sadly, no pictures were taken, but plenty of mental images were taken in my mind of the faces gathered around our long table. Sunday morning we led worship together at CFN, one more time to add to this formerly weekly occurrence, which is perhaps the last in foreseeable future. We all agree that it would be divine (literally) if the Lord would see fit to reunite us in the same geographic area in years ahead. After saying a tearful goodbye to my church family, I made my way back to the Ozarks, where I was able to spend a bit of time with my parents, aunt, and uncle. Prior to dining on cashew chicken, I took a power nap while my dad and Uncle Dave conveniently fixed a faulty turn signal in Mabel.

After such an eventful weekend, it made me desperately sad to return to Oklahoma, knowing how my friend and church prospects are so limited right now. Regardless, I have to remember that Rome was not built in a day, and neither is the process of cultivating new friendships and relationships. I must cling to God’s Word that his plans for my future are prosperous, whole, and hopeful (Jeremiah 29:11).

In book news, I’ve recently finished The Passage by Justin Cronin. I’d heard such good reviews of this novel via NPR and Book Page, but at the end of 784 pages, thought to myself, “That’s it?” and was sad to have spent a good week reading such a disappointing book. Supposedly, Cronin has already crafted the plots for two sequels, but if they’re as anti-climactic as the first, I won’t waste more of my time. Today I polished off Summer at Tiffany by Marjorie Hart, a lighthearted memoir of spending a summer working at Tiffany & Co. in the 1940s. Tonight I plan on beginning glass: a portrait of Philip in twelve parts. I am continually fascinated by 20th-21st century art and music and hope to find this documentary equally so.

Finally, today was Super Hero Day at the Library. My chosen character: The *Seminarian Librarian!
*Having recently discovering how the word “seminary” can also be defined as a location of education for women, this rhyming word is steeped in local history. Here is our super hero Library crew!

IMG_2924

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” Proverbs 31:25

One thought on “Coming Home

  1. I’m behind on your life events, so I’m gonna have to poke around and find out what you are doing in Oklahoma… where the wind comes sweepin’ round the plain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

