The Tide is Turning

Although it’s Wednesday, for all intents and purposes, it’s really like a Friday. Hurrah for a two day Fall break! This long weekend will find me traveling throughout the Midwest to see some of my favorite people and worship with my long-distance church family on Sunday. How excited I am at these prospects!

Since my last update, I am pleased to say the proverbial tide has seemed to turn. After being sick on and off for about a month, I was finally able to see a helpful health care professional who prescribed a few medications that have cleared up my nose and throat, helping me regain energy, thus feeling like myself again. On Sunday my spirit was lifted by discovering a few young adults at a church here in town, giving me a prospective place to establish new faith roots. It’s been a slow and hard transition, but the Lord is continually providing little glimpses of hope along the way, for which I am extremely grateful.

I continue to look for fun ways to get involved in community events, with one such opportunity being to support the local concert series, sponsored by the University. The first concert of the season featured the St. Louis Brass Quintet, which was technically demanding and audience pleasing – a tough feat to accomplish, if you ask me.

SLB
(NOTE: this was taken during their performance by an official University photographer)

Our newly formed fiber/yarn club continues to gain popularity, and I’m pleased to have invited a few friends who enjoy knitting, crocheting, or want to learn. While I continue to labor through knitting my first sock, here is my latest completed project!

IMG_3096
First, the individual parts for my little bear

IMG_3095
Here are the parts layed out as they would soon come together

IMG_3155
The finished product! Click here for the free pattern.

Towards the end of last week my mom and dad came for a lovely visit. We did simple things around town/in the area, spent quality time together, and ate good food. Over the weekend my mom and I whipped together upside-down caramel-apple muffins, which I saw in a recent issue of The New York Times. It’s such a lovely recipe to celebrate the flavors of fall.
IMG_3151

In book news, September and October have found me within the pages of several good books. A couple of my favorites over the past few months have been Impossible by Nancy Werlin (YA) and Terri Blackstock’s “Restoration Series.”

And just today I started reading Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life ~ Stories and Recipes from my Kitchen Table. While I haven’t made it too terribly far along in her lovely memoir, these passages of her introduction jumped out at me. “When I walk into my kitchen today, I am not alone. Whether we know it or not, none of us is. We bring fathers and mothers and kitchen tables, and every meal we have ever eaten” (p. 2). She goes on to write, “A Homemade Life…that’s what we’re building – you, me, all of us who like to stir and whisk – in the kitchen and at the table. In the simple acts of cooking and eating, we are creating and continuing the stories that are our lives” (p. 6). Such simple, eloquent reminders of how food not only provides sustenance for our bodies, but unites us on a deeper and more meaningful level. I look ahead with anticipation of moments to share life with friends through conversation and meals in the upcoming days.

2 thoughts on “The Tide is Turning

  1. I really like what Molly (I’ll pretend I’m on a first name basis with her, otherwise I’d have to scroll back up to find her last name) said about cooking and how it’s somewhat celebrating our past and creating more “food memories.” This makes me happy. Glad you got a break and happy you have hope in the area of putting down spiritual roots. 

Leave a Reply

