Books and Breaks

Today, while on call at work (six of us librarians take turns being available to answer students questions throughout the day or week, similar to office hours), I received a question through Meebo, a neat online chat aggregate that allows students/patrons the opportunity to chat in real time with whoever is on call. As I scoured one of the databases to find the article the patron needed, I told them I could help further if they wanted to meet me at the library. I typed something to the effect of, “When you get to the library ask the person at the desk to contact Sarah, the on call librarian.” Apparently the student arrived, went to the desk where my friend Peggy was stationed and said, “Yes, I’m here to talk with Sarah, the online librarian.” I laughed so hard when Peggy told me, and knowing Peggy, this has probably become my new moniker. Therefore, any sort of physical embodiment that resembles me is now only a mirage.

Last week our library hosted a Scholastic Book Fair. As a kid there was nothing I loved more than school book fairs, either at my school, or the ones where my mom and dad worked. While in elementary school, I remember my mom allowed me to take either a $10 or $20 bill to the book fair, with the stipulation to “bring her back some change.” I vividly remember bringing back 50 cents. An ornery booger I was. Over the past few years my MLS friends and I would make bi-annual pilgrimages to a local Scholastic book warehouse sale, but this is no longer a feasible option in light of my out of state move. Therefore, signing up and (wo)manning our own book fair table allowed me to earn $15 worth of book credit last week! I applied it to add the following to my personal library:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The start of a terrifically dystopian trilogy, and one of my favorites read this past year!
The Cupcake Queen by Heather Hepler
A girly book about baked goods? Hello?!
Ruined by Paula Morris
Friends and former professors have spoken highly of this new YA offering.

Now that it’s my own money and not my mom’s, I’ve become a bit more responsible in how I buy books (and a lot of other things for that matter). It’s funny how that seems to happen.

I’m convinced, breaks are a very good thing. Since it had been five months, spending the dawn of my fall break with these two lovely people was a good choice, indeed.

IMG_3181

Though my fall break was not even a month ago, for several days I have felt the need for an extended holiday. And now, I look forward to next week being a two day work week. Thanksgiving in Missouri, here I come! To be with family, eat traditional classics (namely my Granny Ruby’s pumpkin pie), rest and read at mom & dad’s is a delightfully welcoming prospect. I’m even looking forward to the almost-5 hour drive it takes to get there. Communing with the Lord and listening to a new, free, live recording of a Sara Groves Christmas concert will be blissful company.

Over the past few weeks I have begun feeling more settled in my decision to attend the local First Baptist Church. I’ve made some connections with other young professionals in Sunday School, thus developing early friendships – a HUGE answer to prayer! This past Monday we gathered for dinner and went shopping for items to donate to the Operation Christmas Child project at church. I’ve also begun singing in the church choir, which I realized is a first. Praise teams, seasonal choirs, college, community, and professional choirs – yes. Church choir, no. There are some good voices among a nice sampling of ages and I love seeing the congregation worship as we help lead them to the Throne. Our upcoming Christmas cantata, “Peace on Earth,” will combine the youth choirs with the adult, and we already sound quite good in rehearsal. One of the selections is a choral setting of Casting Crowns’ I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day. Nothing melts my heart more than the sound of children singing, so this arrangement really gets to me. If you haven’t heard this version before, you must check it out here.

Presently, this weekend will be one chock-full of exciting events:
– my foray into being in a book club, which I can now check off of my Living Out of my Heart list! I just returned from dinner and discussion about The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent. This story of an accused mother during the Salem witch trials left me feeling disconnected. While it wasn’t a complete waste of my time, I sadly felt it was a poor representation of the historical fiction genre.
– attending a local performance of Seussical the Musical, directed by my college friend Andrea
– Beth Moore study (almost completed) Sunday afternoon
– local community Thanksgiving service Sunday night, with our FBC choir singing
– hopefully seeing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I, at some point over the weekend

Festivities await!

2 thoughts on “Books and Breaks

  1. Aaah I wanna read The Hunger Games!! I’ve heard only good things about that series. I also like how you used to be with books when you were a kid. I never had the chance to go to book fairs when I was a kid 😦

  2. Love the Sarah Grove C mas CD. It brings joy to my heart. It’s not the “live” version, but still oh so good! I miss you! If you’re trekkiing through Missouri after Christmas, please give me a call. 

Leave a Reply

