This is a New Year

As 2011 begins I’m thankful for fresh, new starts. To me, this is a reminder of God’s grace in my life, continually giving me a clean slate of opportunities to know Him better. Yes and amen.

At this conclusion of 2010 I have taken a look back at books I’ve read and movies I’ve watched and reflect on those which have had compelling story lines. Out of the 70+ books I’ve read this year, the ones that have stuck in my mind are:
The Compound by S.A. Bodeen
Little Bee by Chris Cleave
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The Host by Stephenie Meyer

While I haven’t watched nearly the same amount of movies, those that have made a lasting impression are:
It Might Get Loud
Annie Leibovitz: Life Through a Lens
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I
Inception
The Way We Were

As always, there are so many more books to read and films to watch, which I simply haven’t yet experienced. It’s always exciting to discover untapped personal treasures.

For other recent treasures, here are a few memorable moments shared with friends towards the conclusion of 2010.

IMG_3248
Celebrating my friend Brian’s 30th birthday, along with some of our closest college friends.

IMG_3262
Nothing says Christmas like a cookie exchange! My friend Alyssa and I enjoyed hosting some of our friends & work colleagues prior to Christmas break. (My Oreo bonbons were a smash hit!)

IMG_3270
A beautiful Oklahoma sunset.

IMG_3278
Fellow college music major friend Andrea and I met David Phelps (The Voice) after his Christmas concert. AMAZING! (Both the concert and getting to meet him afterward. He’s taller than he looks on TV, but let’s face it, practically everyone is bigger/taller than me…)

IMG_3279

IMG_3280
How does one spend the last hour at work before the Christmas holiday? By reading Elle (Sarah reading about Sarah) and joining in on the bean bag throwing contest off of the third story of the library, of course! One of our staffers had drawn a super cute target depicting rabbits in various poses of duress. A good time was had by all.

Christmas itself was a wonderful time to take a quick trip to Silver Dollar City with mom & dad, be with family, read by the fireplace, and simply have time to sleep, which is a wonderful feeling of mind and body being restful. Yet, as much as I enjoy having time off, I equally love routine, so I’ll be glad to go back to work tomorrow. Our students return next Monday for the dawn of the spring 2011 semester and I’m excited about all it holds. After all, the best is yet to come.

This is a new year
This is a new day to rise shine, lift up your eyes
And point the way to God’s great light
New Year by Charlie Hall

Leave a Reply

