Saying Goodbye to Snow-klahoma

Ten more inches of snow fell last Wednesday, and campus was closed yet again. This marked 6 ½ days of campus being closed and/or classes cancelled since the new year began. Until now I have lived all my life in Missouri, so I got used to cities and counties knowing how to pre-treat roads when snow storms were predicted and then clear them off properly once it passed. It’s now a little bizarre living in Oklahoma, where the town shuts down because the roads are so unsafe to navigate.

Between the two storms I journeyed to Wal-Mart on Saturday morning February 5 and this is what I saw…or, rather didn’t see, along the bread aisle. Maybe this is what it’s like to live in Russia?

IMG_3310

As I journeyed out to get some fresh air and take pictures of the snow I was reminded of how peaceful and pure snow is. It causes a hush to fall on nature and humanity alike, and presents a time for families to spend (hopefully creative) time together, making memories that last and last. For me it was a good time to read, rest, bake, and knit.

IMG_3307

Thankfully the temperatures have been climbing into the 60s and 70s for the past few days, allowing the ice and snow to melt and serve as a pleasant reminder that spring will indeed come again. With this brings the excitement of baseball season and a spring break trip to Florida one month from today with my folks. Now it’s up to Albert to re-sign with the Cardinals…

Remembering how “life is a special occasion” (I just love those new Hallmark commercials), today I treated myself and bought two boxes of Girl Scout cookies: one box of samoas (my all time favorite) and one box of tag-a-longs (because I just love peanut butter). This article from the Huffington Post presents a good, balanced reminder about savoring this once a year treat. My sentiments exactly.

“My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.” ~ Edward Mote (c. 1834)

Leave a Reply

