A Pigeon Unlike the Others

This winter, around 4:30-5:00 every afternoon, a flock of pigeons would begin their descent to roost on the window sill outside my office window. The ledge is three stories from the ground, on a rather protected portion of the western side of the building. Since then, I’ve kept my eye peeled for one pigeon in particular.

IMG_3338

He’s a little puffed up from the cold, but unusual, no?

I find myself musing about this unique pigeon, how he/she differs from the rest of the traditional gray pigeons I normally behold from my side of the window. Of course I can’t miss a visual parallel of how this pigeon’s plumage makes it stand out in the crowd, much like the unique outer adornments of humans we encounter on a daily basis. How thankful I am that while “man looks on the outward appearance, the Lord looks on the heart” (1 Samuel 16:7).

Thinking of the heart, I’ve recently been in a knitting frenzy preparing gifts from the heart for friends.

IMG_3330
baby owlie sleep sack for my friend & yoga instructor Libby’s baby Maxx.

I also sent a pair of yellow baby booties to my college friends Tim & Megan upon the arrival of their sweet girl Madelyn and some pink fuzzy ones for my BFF’s niece Adelyn, but forgot to take a pictures of these. Oops.

It’s not a baby gift, but still kid-themed…a Cat in the Hat dishcloth from this blog.
IMG_3588

Last week, while eating my lunch at the city park, I was so excited to see the dogwoods already in bloom. When you grow up with this as your state tree, this girl from Missouri knows how to appreciate dogwoods in bloom! I returned Saturday morning before it got too hot and crowded and took a few photos.

IMG_3582

AND, just in time for spring, my small town has had a wonderful addition…a frozen yogurt shop! Prior to moving here I became very fond of a similar shop that had recently opened when completing grad school. Last Friday afternoon, the temperatures were in the 80s and I decided a yogurt treat was in order after work. I planned on getting it to go, but upon arriving saw several people from church/Sunday School who had the same idea, so that gave me a good excuse to stay, eat, and feel like I was a part of a community event. As stated before, my transition in moving to a new town has been downright unpleasant at times. So while it might seem that this seemingly random occurrence was happenstance for folks to gather at the newly opened shop, I see God’s hand at work, encouraging my heart with a simple treat to share with newfound friends. Now that it’s open, and on my way home from work, I have a feeling my car might frequently feel the urge to pull into the parking lot.

Last week was also one of my favorite times of the semester…book fair week! It’s nice to see what new titles are offered through Scholastic and know that a portion of our profits will benefit our collection of children’s materials (which I joyfully oversee). I donated a few of my hours to the cause, which helped me buy a Real Simple cookbook and a few other surprises at a nice discount. After taking advantage of the Borders closing in Springfield on my way back from spring break, I practiced restraint at this book sale and was quite proud of myself for doing so.

New titles recently purchased:
Hoda: How I Survived War Zones, Bad Hair, Cancer, and Kathie Lee by Hoda Kotb with Jane Lorenzini
The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama
Running the Books: The Adventures of an Accidental Prison Librarian by Avi Steinberg
Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner
Real Simple Best Recipes: Easy, Delicious Meals

Books read so far this spring:
I’d Tell You I Love You, but Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter (fun YA series, Gallagher Girls #1)
Charade by Gilbert Morris
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #2)
Don’t Judge a Girl By Her Cover by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #3)
The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger
Only the Good Spy Young by Ally Carter (Gallagher Girls #4)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (actually unabridged audio, which was quite fun. 1 down 6 more to go before July 15)
– the aforementioned Hoda autobiography
Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

As the Lenten season moves closer to Easter I continue to meditate on Jesus’ sacrificial death, knowing that my simple 40 day sacrifice can never compare. I humbly come before the cross, marveling at His grace.

Leave a Reply

