Back to School

The last vestiges of summer:

IMG_3835
What a gift it was to have an entire weekend with Megan, my kindred-spirit and college accountability partner! Afternoon rain brought cooler temperatures, which allowed us to enjoy a comfortable movie night in the park (Iron Man 2).

IMG_3839
Faithful reminders of who God is in the collective lives of our Sunday School class.

IMG_3840
Out with the old MacBook, in with the new MacBook Pro!

IMG_3842
Finished baby blanket for friends who live in the Panhandle.

IMG_3848
Thanks to attending a cupcake decorating class at the public library, I came home with these: a Halloweenie swirl, ant (chocolate covered nuts) at a picnic (coconut shavings), lemon pie (yellow M&Ms), and lettuce (green frosting covered corn flakes) in dirt (Oreo crumbs).

IMG_3850
Another weekend blessing in the form of a visit from Aarik & Brooke. A tour of my library and taking a picture in the Y collection was a must.

IMG_3856

IMG_3859
An adult lesson learned: even though you move to a new place, new friends move on to newer places. It filled me with sadness to say goodbye to my new friend Jaclyn, but send her off with blessings knowing God is going to do amazing things in and through her as she begins seminary in San Francisco. PLUS, I now have a terrific reason to travel and visit her!

After eight work weeks of four, ten-hour days and a lackluster student population on our rural campus, this week brought about the long-anticipated return of the fall semester. Seeing our library bustling with students coming and going brought a smile to my face and heart. As the new semester dawned Monday morning, I couldn’t help but remember this delightful quote from You’ve Got Mail:
Don’t you love New York in the
fall? It makes me want to buy school
supplies. I would send you a bouquet of
newly-sharpened pencils if I knew your
name and address. On the other hand,
this not knowing has its charms.

While I certainly don’t live in New York, and it was still over 100 degrees in Oklahoma today, I am reminded that fall will come again. Last week I opened my closet and told my long-sleeved pants and shirts, “I’m sorry you’ve been neglected for so long. I promise I will wear you again…I just can’t say when.” Ah, fall – marching band performances, hay rides, turning leaves, and the prospect of Christmas coming again.

And though Christmas is still four+ months away, I cling to the promise of God’s purpose in sending Jesus to this earth to be God with us every day of the year, not just on December 25. This week has been demanding, both mentally and emotionally…and I wish it were different. My heart has taken a beating, and while I desire to “live a life worthy of the Lord” (Colossians 1:10), this has honestly been easier said than done. In the midst of my relationship turmoils, Jesus is with me. When I don’t see His hand at work, when I’m at my wits end, when I’m ready to give up He is still with me. When I don’t want Him to be with me, when I wish He would leave me alone and let me do life my way, He gently tugs on my heartstrings and says to me, “Beloved, my ways are higher than your ways. I see the big picture. Keep trusting in me.”

Two things you told me
That you are strong
And you love me.
Your Love is Strong by Jon Foreman (Psalm 62:11-12)

Yes and amen.

Leave a Reply

