Hiatus

hi-a-tus n. A slight break or lapse in space, time, or continuity : break.  Webster’s II New Riverside Dictionary (1996)

I can’t honestly say that the length of time that has passed since my last blog post via Xanga (so long, old friend) can be categorized as “slight,” but I can say that throughout this hiatus, I have missed blogging.  Enough so to archive the old, and begin anew.  Although there may not be many who read what I share, it is still a good exercise for me to organize my thoughts, hold myself accountable to some summer goals, and reflect on growth achieved along the way.

Today marks the first day of our University’s intercession. Finals week and graduation reached their conclusion over the weekend, and now our Library might as well be a barren, ghost town (cue tumbleweeds accompanied by whistling). This means I have to seek out gratifying and productive projects to complete at work. Some possibilities over the next few months:

  • writing an article about the important role of a children’s collection in an academic library
  • developing step-by-step instructions for using the SmartBoard in one of our study rooms
  • evaluating older monographs in the collection to determine if they are suitable for weeding (deselection)

My sweet husband, The Optometrist, asked me what personal enrichment goals I have, which might be cultivated or developed over the summer. When posed in this light, I realize there are so many possibilities! A few that have been rumbling around in my mind:

  • learning and appreciating opera more.  Many days have come and gone since my undergraduate music education degree and it’s time I put on my big girl musician pants, and beef up on all that has been intimidating and just out of reach for far too long. First to come, Madama Butterfly: learning not only about the music/libretto, but more about Puccini, and historical connections of what was taking place at that time in Europe, the United States, and elsewhere.
  • practicing my piano consistently every day. Clair de Lune, The Maple Leaf Rag, and some hymn arrangements really aren’t too far outside my reach when I stop and think about it.
  • explore learning how to play cello. It’s rich tambre beckons me…
  • figuring out how to operate a sewing machine and actually sew something! Since inheriting my Granny’s sewing machine this past fall, it has sat forlornly  in my studio closet. Whether it be pillows, small bags, or little sampler pieces, it’s time I add to my domestic skill set.
  • reading books that have been on my summer reading list for years: Summerland by Michael Chabon and Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury.
  • enjoying some new-to-me books: Delicious by Ruth Reichl, 11/22/63 by Steven King, The Bees by Laline Paull, One Kick by Chelsea Cain, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.

Let the hiatus cease and summer adventures begin!

Leave a Reply

