Bright & Beautiful

I’m blessed to live in the foothills of the Oklahoma Ozarks, otherwise known as Green Country among regional locals. Over the past few weeks I’ve enjoyed the vibrant blooms and buds, but more importantly, the long awaited green that has re-emerged after a cold, hard, drab winter.

IMG_2819

Additionally, a part of spring I always anticipate is my birthday. Perhaps there will come a time when I would rather not celebrate the passage of another year, but for now, I continue to embrace the excitement and celebration that comes with growing another year older. Maybe it’s because I’m an only child and cherish the attention of being in the spotlight, or maybe it’s because there’s still a little girl inside of me who just loves the idea of fun, cake (the one Mom & I made for the first time), presents, cards, and…well, attention. This birthday was celebrated with the Optometrist, my mom & dad, and a dear octogenarian friend from church. At one point I had a quiet moment in front of the mirror and as I looked into the reflection of my eyes I told myself, “Little girl, you’ve got it made. You have people in the other room who love you and several more who have expressed their love across the miles. You have a job you love, people who care about you and appreciate what you do, a church family who values your abilities, and innumerable, ongoing blessings from your Heavenly Father. Take this moment to be thankful.”  One of the ways I always try to capture this is by literally and figuratively stopping to smell the roses. It’s fun having a May birthday when the roses are just beginning to show their vibrant color. Here’s to another year of life and taking time for the little, yet meaningful moments! IMG_2851

“One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our windows today.” ~ Dale Carnegie

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/d/dalecarneg106496.html#IgHCu5Qcz2Vveb26.99

Leave a Reply

