Sock-ccess!

Last week was a big breakthrough week for me!  It felt so good to finally accomplish several things that had been elusive and somewhat defeating. Namely, I finally was successful in casting on my first pair of knitted socks! Even though I’ve been knitting for over ten years, and have completed similar projects (baby booties knitted flat & sock puppets on DPNs), a pair of actual, wearable, adult socks has always seemed so advanced and difficult.  Yet, last Wednesday afternoon, July 16, I made my breakthrough! Using a 40″ size 1 Addi Turbo Sock Rockets circular needle, purchased for me by The Optometrist, I used the simple Turkish/Eastern cast on for two, toe-up socks and the Lost City Knits DVD Toe-Up Socks pattern to take me from one-who-knits-lots-of-items-but-not-socks, to…sock knitter!

Here’s my current progress: toes and increases are complete, I’ve marked the location (red & pink rows) where I’ll include an after-thought heel, and I’m about to begin the cuff – will probably use a 2×2 ribbing.  It’s going more easily and quickly than I ever imagined it would!

IMG_2932

I’m currently using the Vera Bradley clear beach cosmetic bag, Clementine, for my knitting projects, which I love. It just isn’t wide enough to accommodate two skeins of yarn plus the resulting socks. So! After my sock breakthrough last Wednesday, I purchased the pattern to sew a Sock Sack. When knitting two socks simultaneously, as I’m doing now, both balls of yarn have their own little cozy compartment for tangle-free knitting.

On Saturday The Optometrist and I made a trip to our local Hancock Fabrics store and took advantage of their Super Saturday sale so I could purchase all the necessary supplies for this creative sewing project (another first!).  There’s surely more to come as I complete my first pair of socks, cast on my second pair (these will be for The Optometrist) using Premier wool-free yarn, and make a Sock Sack to carry as I knit my next pair!

IMG_2934

This has not only been a breakthrough of a physical accomplishment, but a mental one as well.  Thanks to my sock endeavor, several other fleeting thoughts became a concrete reality last week:

1.) I’m smart and capable.  The diploma on my wall reminds me I have earned a Master’s degree, so it stands to reason I should be able to achieve what I set my mind out to accomplish.  The Apostle Paul said it best in Philippians 4:13  Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am (The Message).

2.) I can be the leading lady in my own life.  The recent death of actor Eli Wallach prompted me to re-watch one of my favorite movies, The Holiday. Once again, I was encouraged to heed his character’s advice:

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/561542647259085819/

Arthur: Iris, in the movies we have leading ladies and we have the best friend. You, I can tell, are a leading lady, but for some reason you are behaving like the best friend.

Iris: You’re so right. You’re supposed to be the leading lady of your own life, for God’s sake! Arthur, I’ve been going to a therapist for three years, and she’s never explained anything to me that well. That was brilliant. Brutal, but brilliant.

Arthur’s words to Iris have resounded within my soul as well: be the leading lady!

3.) Being brave means approaching fearful situations with patience and assurance that even long-term goals can be accomplished one step at a time. The trying part is often maintaining diligence to remember that the long-term goal can and will someday be achieved, but I have to play an active part in doing something versus stewing about the fear.

I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. Yes and amen.

Leave a Reply

