Alphabetical Scriptures

Last Friday afternoon I had the enjoyment of wrapping up my work week and walking from the Library to my husband’s office across campus. As my footfalls carried me, so my thoughts took on a cadence of their own: having scriptures pop to mind. I love how God’s Word is a constant companion, especially when embedded in my heart and subconscious. This strolling revelation prompted me to consider identifying one scripture for each letter of the alphabet. Here are some of my favorites, which I hold dear. (All scriptures from NIV 1984 ed. unless otherwise specified.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A – It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. ~ 2 Samuel 22:33

BBecause of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” ~ Lamentations 3:22-24

C – No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. ~ Romans 8:37

D – So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. ~ Isaiah 41:10

E – The king is enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord. ~ Psalm 45:11

F – For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. ~ Isaiah 41:13

G – To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. ~ Colossians 1:27

H – And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. ~ Romans 5:5

IIn the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good works and praise your Father in heaven. ~ Matthew 5:16 (my life verse)

J – Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. ~ James 1:2-3

K – For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. ~ Psalm 139:13

L – The Lord is my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid? ~ Psalm 27:1

M – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ These is no commandment greater than these. ~ Mark 12:30-31

N – Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’. ~ Matthew 5:37a

O – For all the animals of the forest are mine, and I own the cattle on a thousand hills. ~ Psalm 50:10 (NLT)

PPeace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. ~ John 14:27

Q – He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters. ~ Psalm 23:2

R – …And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ. ~ Ephesians 3:17b-18

S – She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. ~ Proverbs 31:25

T – One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God, are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving. ~ Psalm 62:11-12a

U – And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. ~ 2 Corinthians 3:18

V – And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. ~ Matthew 10:30

W – As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. ~ Ephesians 4:1

X – They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator –  who is forever praised. Amen. ~ Romans 1:25

Y – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. ~ Hebrews 13:8

Z – The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing. ~ Zephaniah 3:17

As I worked my way through my scriptural alphabet it’s been interesting to see correlated themes: overcoming fear, trusting God’s presence, and abiding in Jesus’ special love for me. I don’t think these will ever be scriptures or lessons of which I tire in reading and remembering. Yes and amen.

Leave a Reply

